Failed to load mt32_control.rom

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Nintendo Wii port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
ichich56
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:55 pm

Failed to load mt32_control.rom

Post by ichich56 » Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:42 am

If i try to load Indy4 i get this failure message and the wii chrashes. Im using the latest nightly build of scummvm.

What could i do?

Thx for your help.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:46 am

That's the MT-32 emulator (munt) that we use. You need to either change the sound settings to something other than an emulated MT-32 (e.g. Adlib), or dump mt32_control.rom from an actually owned MT-32.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:01 am

md5 wrote:That's the MT-32 emulator (munt) that we use. You need to either change the sound settings to something other than an emulated MT-32 (e.g. Adlib), or dump mt32_control.rom from an actually owned MT-32.
Might be another fallout from the MIDI device changes in the development versions. At least at first, ScummVM was far too fond of using that emulator as default. It might still be. Perhaps it should have a more graceful fallback if those files are missing, e.g. switching to another driver, considering the hoops I hear you have to jump through to get them.

User avatar
dhewg
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:41 pm

Post by dhewg » Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:44 pm

eriktorbjorn wrote:Might be another fallout from the MIDI device changes in the development versions. At least at first, ScummVM was far too fond of using that emulator as default. It might still be. Perhaps it should have a more graceful fallback if those files are missing, e.g. switching to another driver, considering the hoops I hear you have to jump through to get them.
Might also be related to the Wii not having any MIDI devices or softsynths besides the MT32 emu ;)

But I think you have to set the preferred audio device to the MT32 emu to get that message. At least last time I tried indy4.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:59 pm

dhewg wrote: But I think you have to set the preferred audio device to the MT32 emu to get that message. At least last time I tried indy4.
For some reason, if I set the music driver to something unsupported, like PC Speaker Emulator, it thinks I mean the MT-32 emulator. At least in Fate of Atlantis. I haven't bothered to figure out why yet.

User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Posts: 984
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:03 am
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Post by MusicallyInspired » Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:31 pm

I don't think FOA supports PC Speaker.

User avatar
LordHoto
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by LordHoto » Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:47 pm

MusicallyInspired wrote:I don't think FOA supports PC Speaker.
Not in ScummVM at least, the original did support PC Speaker as audio output though.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Wed Sep 01, 2010 3:42 am

MusicallyInspired wrote:I don't think FOA supports PC Speaker.
That's why I wrote "something unsupported". What surprised me was that it picked the MT-32 emulator as a sensible default in that case.

User avatar
LordHoto
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by LordHoto » Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:30 am

eriktorbjorn wrote:
MusicallyInspired wrote:I don't think FOA supports PC Speaker.
That's why I wrote "something unsupported". What surprised me was that it picked the MT-32 emulator as a sensible default in that case.
Might be that Indy4 has "MDT_PREFER_MT32" set and thus it should select your device in "MT-32:" when doing a fallback detection.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:59 pm

LordHoto wrote: Might be that Indy4 has "MDT_PREFER_MT32" set and thus it should select your device in "MT-32:" when doing a fallback detection.
I could have sworn I had set that one to something else, but either that setting got eaten somewhere along the line, or I accidentally set it back myself.

dacovale
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:01 am

Post by dacovale » Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:12 am

Found this topic when I searched for a fix. This happens with the (latest) svn-build and a standard download of the freeware BASS (v0.0372 cd) from your download page.
Failed to load MT32_CONTROL.ROM|
ScummVM exited abnormally (-127).
Press any key to continue.
Ofc, the wiimote refuses to reconnect and I don't have a keyboard attached, so I have to reboot instead. :p

Above those three lines are about half a page of lines that seem normal enough. They confirm that I use the 1.3.0svn52917 (Sep 27 2010 05:51:04) build
that 'vkeybd_default' is loaded and that Scumm found Beneath a Steel Sky.

I tried to choose another music emulator in the settings for the game, but I still ended up wit hthe same lines. Before that I hadn't changed a thing.


EDIT:
The same problem exists for Lure of the Temptress, but not for The Dig, which was the only game I could find that wasn't in a box in the basement. The Dig started just fine, and I played through a couple of minutes just to see that it wouldn't stop.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Tue Sep 28, 2010 4:01 am

dacovale wrote: Above those three lines are about half a page of lines that seem normal enough. They confirm that I use the 1.3.0svn52917 (Sep 27 2010 05:51:04) build
that 'vkeybd_default' is loaded and that Scumm found Beneath a Steel Sky.

I tried to choose another music emulator in the settings for the game, but I still ended up wit hthe same lines. Before that I hadn't changed a thing.
Changing the "Preferred Device" (on the Audio tab) setting to, say, "AdLib" doesn't work? That's odd. From what I understand, the reason is that ScummVM thinks the best music for certain games is the one that was written for the Roland MT-32, and if you haven't told it otherwise it tries to pick a music device for that. At the moment, that defaults to the MT-32 emulator, which isn't a very good default if you ask me.

Another thing that strikes me as odd is that I would have thought that the test builds now were based on the 1.2.0 branch (where this behaviour should have been disabled for now) to help people test the upcoming release.

dacovale
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:01 am

Post by dacovale » Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:51 pm

hmm... somehow it worked this time around. Perhaps because I tried it at 4 am last time. Sorry for the false alarm :/

Post Reply