Sierra games don't allow speech and text at the same time.

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:09 pm

Update: SCI1.1 SCI CD games now sync their sound settings with the ones in ScummVM. This means that for the following SCI1.1 CD games:
- Freddy Pharkas
- Space Quest 4
- Laura Bow 2
- King's Quest 6

You can set speech/subtitles from the ScummVM audio options menu. You can also set simultaneous speech and subtitles for Freddy Pharkas and Space Quest 4. The speech + subtitles setting is also available in-game in SQ4, but not in Pharkas (there is no appropriate button to use, unless the text speed slider is repurposed for this).

I'm also working on patching LB2CD and KQ6CD to allow simultaneous speech and subtitles, but they have checks in a lot of places, which will have to be rewritten

BobbinT
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:26 pm

Post by BobbinT » Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:30 pm

thx man! can't wait to see this happen. :D

Btw, can you confirm svn version for this update?

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Wed Dec 22, 2010 3:44 pm

55005 and 55006

BobbinT
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:26 pm

Post by BobbinT » Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:23 pm

is it already released? I didn't see it here:

http://buildbot.scummvm.org/snapshots/trunk/

dhwz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:09 pm

Post by dhwz » Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:12 pm

md5 wrote:Update: SCI1.1 SCI CD games now sync their sound settings with the ones in ScummVM. This means that for the following SCI1.1 CD games:
- Freddy Pharkas
- Space Quest 4
- Laura Bow 2
- King's Quest 6

You can set speech/subtitles from the ScummVM audio options menu. You can also set simultaneous speech and subtitles for Freddy Pharkas and Space Quest 4. The speech + subtitles setting is also available in-game in SQ4, but not in Pharkas (there is no appropriate button to use, unless the text speed slider is repurposed for this).

I'm also working on patching LB2CD and KQ6CD to allow simultaneous speech and subtitles, but they have checks in a lot of places, which will have to be rewritten
But switching in-game is still not possible right?
I tried it with KQ6CD and if I click the Speech/Text Button in the game options just the following message apears "This button is reserved for the CD version of King's Quest VI".

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:18 pm

dhwz wrote:
md5 wrote:Update: SCI1.1 SCI CD games now sync their sound settings with the ones in ScummVM. This means that for the following SCI1.1 CD games:
- Freddy Pharkas
- Space Quest 4
- Laura Bow 2
- King's Quest 6

You can set speech/subtitles from the ScummVM audio options menu. You can also set simultaneous speech and subtitles for Freddy Pharkas and Space Quest 4. The speech + subtitles setting is also available in-game in SQ4, but not in Pharkas (there is no appropriate button to use, unless the text speed slider is repurposed for this).

I'm also working on patching LB2CD and KQ6CD to allow simultaneous speech and subtitles, but they have checks in a lot of places, which will have to be rewritten
But switching in-game is still not possible right?
I tried it with KQ6CD and if I click the Speech/Text Button in the game options just the following message apears "This button is reserved for the CD version of King's Quest VI".
That's odd, I don't get this. What did you do and got this message?

Collector
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 6:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Collector » Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:24 pm

dhwz wrote:I tried it with KQ6CD and if I click the Speech/Text Button in the game options just the following message apears "This button is reserved for the CD version of King's Quest VI".
You get that error message if the "KQ6CD" file is missing from the game's folder.

dhwz
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:09 pm

Post by dhwz » Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:07 pm

Collector wrote:
dhwz wrote:I tried it with KQ6CD and if I click the Speech/Text Button in the game options just the following message apears "This button is reserved for the CD version of King's Quest VI".
You get that error message if the "KQ6CD" file is missing from the game's folder.
Ah ok, I'll copy that from my CD and try again.

Ok, that was the problem. Thanks :)

Angelus3K
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 2:48 pm

Post by Angelus3K » Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:04 am

Am I missing something? I'm using iPad port but cannot seem to get Speech and Subtitles in KQ6CD or KQ5 working. Not sure if KQ5 is supported yet. Any ideas?

P.S. I have Both enabled in global settings and SQ4 Talkie does work with both.

User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Posts: 1000
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:03 am
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Post by MusicallyInspired » Sat Feb 11, 2012 3:07 pm

There is no toggle for KQ5. The floppy versions only support text and the CD version only supports speech (no text at all). I don't even think the text resources are included in the CD version...

This should also probably be in the iPad port subforum.

hitmarty
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:30 am

Post by hitmarty » Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:37 pm

it's working now for Larry 6 great work! when can we expect Laura Bow?

MrPunchy
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:04 pm

Post by MrPunchy » Wed Feb 06, 2013 2:41 am

Hi!
Any progress in KQ6?

fischkopf
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 1:08 pm
Location: germany

Post by fischkopf » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:45 am

The german version of PQ4 has a text+speech option. You could take that script and apply it to the english version, just sayin' :)

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:54 am

MrPunchy wrote:Hi!
Any progress in KQ6?
No, not yet

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:54 am

fischkopf wrote:The german version of PQ4 has a text+speech option. You could take that script and apply it to the english version, just sayin' :)
No, that is completely different

Post Reply