Ports of platforms for ScummVM: Network connectivity?

All the inane chatter goes in here. If you're curious about whether we will support a game, post HERE not in General Discussion :)

Moderator: ScummVM Team

GuyBristle

Ports of platforms for ScummVM: Network connectivity?

Post by GuyBristle »

As a ScummVM newbie, I'm wondering is the network connectivity implemented for ScummVM?

Have been thinking that perhaps some (but not many?) of the games (and up to game engines) supported by ScummVM require some network channel for their certain features (like save-games online, multiplayer options, etc.) to fully function. Now, JavaVM for example exposes its APIs for communications available and the end-user can be given the power to flexibly choose the mediating channel (for mobile terminals Wi-Fi, GPRS, etc. you name it) to be used by an application (here: a game) for actions over network.

Is networking supported by ScummVM up to some common extend (for desktop platforms?) already or is it implemented case by case seperately? I guess lower-level APIs (from the point of view of VM) are needed for each platform (let's take e.g. Maemo and N900 running it) seperately to do the job.

Thanks for comments and hints!
fingolfin
Retired

Re: Ports of platforms for ScummVM: Network connectivity?

Post by fingolfin »

GuyBristle wrote:As a ScummVM newbie, I'm wondering is the network connectivity implemented for ScummVM?
No.
GuyBristle wrote:Have been thinking that perhaps some (but not many?) of the games (and up to game engines) supported by ScummVM require some network channel for their certain features (like save-games online, multiplayer options, etc.) to fully function.
I am not aware of any. Can you name one?
clone2727
Retired

Re: Ports of platforms for ScummVM: Network connectivity?

Post by clone2727 »

fingolfin wrote: