Problems Discworld2

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Maemo (Nokia N800/N810/N900) port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
markel
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 4:50 pm

Problems Discworld2

Post by markel » Sat Sep 19, 2009 7:07 pm

Hi! There was problema.Pri start the game Discworld2 (Russian version), scummvm an error-"ScummVM could not find any game in the specified directory". Although the computing system starts without problems. What could be the reason? Device N810, ScummVM 0.13.1 Thank you!

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Re: Problems Discworld2

Post by eriktorbjorn » Sat Sep 19, 2009 7:29 pm

ScummVM 0.13.1 doesn't support the Discworld games. The upcoming 1.0 should, however.

dannydio
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:54 pm

disworld II on windows mobile

Post by dannydio » Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:57 pm

I'm running scummVM 1.0.0 and can't get it to load discworld II missing presumed!? I think the version supports this game, and it looks like it's starting up, but then it immediately quits.

Any ideas anyone?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Re: disworld II on windows mobile

Post by eriktorbjorn » Fri Oct 16, 2009 2:20 pm

dannydio wrote: Any ideas anyone?
Just to rule out the simplest explanation, did you make sure you copied (and, in a few cases, renamed) all of the files indicated on the Data Files page? (It looks like this information is not in the ScummVM README, for some reason.)

I don't know how ScummVM reacts to missing files, however. It might not behave at all like you describe. Running it from a command prompt could possibly provide an error message. I can't check at the moment.

dannydio
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:54 pm

Post by dannydio » Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:34 am

Yes, everything is in the dw2 directory and I renamed the files for the second disc.

dannydio
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:54 pm

Post by dannydio » Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:35 am

By the way, how do I run it from a command prompt on my mobile phone?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Sat Oct 17, 2009 10:05 am

dannydio wrote:By the way, how do I run it from a command prompt on my mobile phone?
Ah, I didn't realize it was a phone. I'm not familiar with the Maemo. :)

jvprat
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 9:10 pm

Post by jvprat » Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:06 pm

dannydio wrote:Yes, everything is in the dw2 directory and I renamed the files for the second disc.
You should also rename the files for the first one?

dannydio
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:54 pm

Post by dannydio » Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:39 pm

Yes, I also did that.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 4:24 pm

Which mobile phone is that? DW2 is quite memory intensive, the game alone needs 10MB of RAM (which doesn't account for the memory that the rest of the code in tinsel and ScummVM itself needs)

fanoush
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 3:11 pm

Re: Problems Discworld2

Post by fanoush » Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:16 am

eriktorbjorn wrote:ScummVM 0.13.1 doesn't support the Discworld games. The upcoming 1.0 should, however.
Discworld should run on N810 when running scummvm 1.0.0. I have tested both DW I and II.

Post Reply