ScummVM DS 0.12.0 beta3 [obsolete]

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Nintendo DS port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
agentq
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: London, UK

ScummVM DS 0.12.0 beta3 [obsolete]

Post by agentq » Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:42 pm

Please test this new beta version of ScummVM, and post your results here. It would be good to know which games you have tested.

If you see problems, please post the details here, and include details of your setup.

Since this is a beta version, full instructions are not yet available, but instructions for use are essentially the same as the previous version, so see the ScummVM DS website at http://scummvm.drunkencoders.com

Download here:
http://scummvm.drunkencoders.com/scummv ... 0beta3.zip

Fixes in beta3

- Mouse cursor palette corruption fixed.


Fixes in beta2

- Mouse cursor icon is hidden when screen tap method is enabled
- Audio is no longer corrupted when high quality mode is on
- Speed fixes for Kyrandia engine (thanks, LordHoto!)
- Properly enabled AGI and CINE engines
- Fix occasional mouse button getting held down



New Features

- New games supported:
- Lure of the Temptress
- Nippon Safes
- Lost in Time

- New laptop trackpad style input method

- New option to drag for hover, tap for click, and double tap for right click

- Reorganised options screens

- New top screen scaling options

- The usual round of bug fixes


Supported Games


Build A:
Manic Mansion
Zak McKracken and the Alien Mindbenders
Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade
Loom
Passport to Adventure
The Secret of Monkey Island
Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge
Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Day of the Tentacle
Sam & Max Hit the Road
Bear Stormin' (DOS version only)
Fatty Bear's Birthday Surprise (DOS version only)
Fatty Bear's Fun Pack (DOS version only)
Putt-Putt's Fun Pack (DOS version only)
Putt-Putt Goes to the Moon (DOS version only)
Putt-Putt Joins the Parade (DOS version only)

Build B:
Beneath a Steel Sky
Flight of the Amazon Queen

Build C:
Simon the Sorcerer 1/2
Elvira 1/2
Waxworks (Amiga version only)

Build D:
Sierra AGI games
Gobliiins 1 - 3
Bargon Attack
Ween: The Prophecy
Future Wars
Lost in Time

Build E:
Inherit the Earth

Build F:
Kyrandia 1

Build G:
Lure of the Temptress
Nippon Safes
Last edited by agentq on Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

clem
Posts: 2185
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem » Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:52 pm

Beta 2 lists Kyrandia 1-3 as supported in Build F, Beta 3 only lists Kyrandia 1?

agentq
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by agentq » Wed Aug 20, 2008 7:55 am

Kyrandia 2 and 3 have major problems, including a one minute pause before Kyra 3 starts, crashing during save/load, and stuttering during the game. I'm not going to list them as compatible with these issues. I will look at these issues for the next ScummVM release.

superfighter
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 5:34 pm
Location: England

Post by superfighter » Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:20 pm

just tried running Kyrandia 1 on the new beta
it doesnt boot and says my Dat file is wrong? ... it worked fine on version 0.11.1 and still does

Luminious
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 12:58 pm

Post by Luminious » Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:43 pm

superfighter wrote:just tried running Kyrandia 1 on the new beta
it doesnt boot and says my Dat file is wrong? ... it worked fine on version 0.11.1 and still does

use this one for DS Build ((Kyra.dat)) (231 KB) Kyrandia 1 on Beta3 as well as Beta2:
http://scummvm.svn.sourceforge.net/view ... sion=33159

-Lumi

Vlcice
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:54 am

Post by Vlcice » Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:10 am

The DOS floppy version of Inherit the Earth has some significant problems with its introduction in this beta. The graphics corrupt after a second, and most of the image disappears; it hangs then, and needs to be skipped. The rest of the game seems to work fine. The intro works properly in 0.11.1.

Scandal_UK
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: UK

Post by Scandal_UK » Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:49 pm

Lure of the Temptress crashes on this build (well, freezes anyway), whenever I try to load my savegame (load is F7).

I've tried four times now - it works on the BETA2 build. Surely nothing can have changed on this bit?

tomten
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:16 am

Tab/inventory

Post by tomten » Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:53 pm

Where's the tab key on the virtual keyboard? Or is there another way to get to the status/inventory in AGI games?

tomten
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:16 am

Post by tomten » Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:03 pm

Vlcice wrote:The DOS floppy version of Inherit the Earth has some significant problems with its introduction in this beta. The graphics corrupt after a second, and most of the image disappears; it hangs then, and needs to be skipped. The rest of the game seems to work fine. The intro works properly in 0.11.1.
I get this too.

tomten
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:16 am

Post by tomten » Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:04 pm

Scandal_UK wrote:Lure of the Temptress crashes on this build (well, freezes anyway), whenever I try to load my savegame (load is F7).

I've tried four times now - it works on the BETA2 build. Surely nothing can have changed on this bit?
Loading works for me.

The NDS START button goes to "save game" - is this intentional? Loading is still only possible via virtual F7, right?

Scandal_UK
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 6:51 pm
Location: UK

Post by Scandal_UK » Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:48 am

Yeh that's it.

I started a new save game which I can load on this build, but again it freezes regularly in the village on my G6.

tomten
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 9:16 am

Post by tomten » Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:54 am

Scandal_UK wrote:I started a new save game which I can load on this build, but again it freezes regularly in the village on my G6.
It freezes when you load? Or it freezes a while after you've loaded a savegame? Or it freezes often in the village, regardless?

I didn't play very far; what should I test?

agentq
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by agentq » Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:43 am

So I assume the problem was that the game created a dodgy save which crashes when you load? Was this in the village where it crashes anyway?

I have been saving and loading using the menu bar which comes down from the top of the screen when you click there. It's difficult to use unless you're in touch pad mode though.

Post Reply