Lands of Lore controls

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Nintendo Switch port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
TimeDevouncer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 7:59 pm

Lands of Lore controls

Post by TimeDevouncer »

Hi, first of all sorry for my bad english.

It's possible to change or remap the controls for this game?

Thanks!

rsn8887
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:56 am

Re: Lands of Lore controls

Post by rsn8887 »

Do you mean Joycon or Touch controls?

Concerning Joycon controls: Remapping Joycon controls is not possible at the moment. I will try to implement an optional control scheme similar to what exists on the PSP port. One would press a combo like R+L+Start or so to toggle between the default controls and the other control scheme (1st person controls). In the 1st person controls, L/R would be strafe in Lands of Lore, and DPAD left/right would be turn. R+DPAD would press F1-F4 to attack with your characters etc. This is not yet implemented, but I am working on it.

Concerning touch controls: I just implemented a direct touch feature. It will be in the next nightly build (June 14 or 15 or so or later). You will find a new option in Options->Controls, called "Touchpad Mouse Mode", which can be turned on or off. If you turn it off, the pointer will jump to your finger directly. This will make touch controls in some games like Lands of Lore a bit easier.

More details about the controls are here: https://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php?titl ... ndo_Switch

TimeDevouncer
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 7:59 pm

Re: Lands of Lore controls

Post by TimeDevouncer »

I'm talking about joycon controls, yes, the optional control sounds awesome! I can't wait to try it.

About the touch controls, very useful!

Thanks for your work :wink:

User avatar
MAN-biker
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Lands of Lore controls

Post by MAN-biker »

1. First of all, THANK YOU for your work!
2. Today i tested LoL on my switch (switch-master-912bbf36) and found some... (bug?) in controls:
TURN LEFT = (<) + [R]
all fine, as expected, but
TURN RIGHT = (^) + [R]
but (>) + [R] expected!
Can you fix it or explain if it'd not a bug?
3. Can you remove MD5 check for L01.PAK for RUSSIAN version (I'm working on RUSSIAN TRANSLATION for this game and every new build of my translation, L01.PAK is changes.

Hey! This trouble with controls was 10 years ago in PSP port!
Look here, Pix resolved it as very good solution.
Can you make the same in Nintendo Switch?

P.S.: sorry for my horrible English

User avatar
MAN-biker
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Lands of Lore controls

Post by MAN-biker »

New "remp feature" is great, now we can customize controls as we like.
But there is new trouble at NSW port: associated mouse buttons don't work, at least, LMB usually binfed to (B) gamepad button.
And I think RMB binfed to gamepad (A) too.
The only way to use a mouse buttons in game is a touch controls, but it's not handy to use it in gameplay.
Fix it, please.

rsn8887
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:56 am

Re: Lands of Lore controls

Post by rsn8887 »

It works for me using latest code.

Please check again with tomorrow’s buildbot version. If it still doesn’t work for you, please provide step by step instructions how to reproduce the bug. Thanks.

User avatar
MAN-biker
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: Lands of Lore controls

Post by MAN-biker »

rsn8887 wrote:
Sun Feb 09, 2020 2:36 pm
It works for me using latest code.
Please check again with tomorrow’s buildbot version. If it still doesn’t work for you, please provide step by step instructions how to reproduce the bug. Thanks.
Still NOT work (tried "latest development build").
(B) button (or any other, assigned for "interact"=LMB) works only in scumm main menu or in "ingame options" menu, works fine in other games, but it didn't work in Lands of Lore game (tried Russian CD and 2 versions of floppy English - all the same.
Tried to remove scummvm.ini, don't change anything defaults, just add a game and run it - as soon as I'm in game engine, I cant interact (can't type at onscreen keyboard, can't press on any selected string in game menu. But if I press (PLUS)=F5 menu button, then press (MINUS)=onscreen keyboard one, I CAN interact, (but it's useless, because options window behind the keyboard overlay).
So, ANY button assigned to "INTERACT" don't work in Lands of Lore (i tried reset all buttons, tried assign interact to X,Y,B,A - all works fine in scumm menu, but not in LoL game!
By the way, works fine in Kyrandia 1 & 2 games too, but not in LoL.

Post Reply