Some engines not available with latest and stable from buildbot

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Playstation Vita port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
easchel
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2021 11:50 am

Some engines not available with latest and stable from buildbot

Post by easchel »

Hello everybody

I‘m facing an issue with the builds from the buildbot. It seems that some engines are not included with those build. For example blade runner and myst 3. The engine for Riven however is included.

Might that be a config issue with the build instructions?
rsn8887
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:56 am

Re: Some engines not available with latest and stable from buildbot

Post by rsn8887 »

easchel wrote: Sat Sep 25, 2021 1:48 pm I‘m facing an issue with the builds from the buildbot. It seems that some engines are not included with those build. For example blade runner and myst 3. The engine for Riven however is included.

Might that be a config issue with the build instructions?
This is not a bug, it is intentional.

Several engines are excluded from Vita builds because they are unplayably slow on Vita and/or require a lot of keyboard input (while also being big). This is necessary to keep the executable size small enough to prevent a crash on startup.

The specific engines excluded from all recent daily buildbot Vita builds are bladerunner (unplayably slow), glk (a lot of keyboard input), stark (unplayably slow), myst3 (unplayably slow), grim (unplayably slow), titanic (a lot of keyboard input), wintermute, and all unstable engines.

The forthcoming release build will exclude bladerunner, glk, stark, myst3, grim, titanic, and all unstable engines. The missing debug information in the release build allowed wintermute to be included without causing the crash on startup.
easchel
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2021 11:50 am

Re: Some engines not available with latest and stable from buildbot

Post by easchel »

Gotcha, thank you for your comprehensive answer.
Garcimak
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:04 pm

Re: Some engines not available with latest and stable from buildbot

Post by Garcimak »

hi rsn8887,
not even with higher oc settings ?
I wanted to play it on the go after watching this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQCUGGuUHNQ
it looked enjoyable

Maybe a split version for bladerunner is possible ?
or better waiting until there's improvement for this particuliar game

will try if a new 3ds is a better option ?
rsn8887
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:56 am

Re: Some engines not available with latest and stable from buildbot

Post by rsn8887 »

Define „enjoyable“ :)

I will make a test version tomorrow that includes only the missing engines, so you can try for yourself, and tell me if it is really enjoyable. I will post a link here when it is done.
rsn8887
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:56 am

Re: Some engines not available with latest and stable from buildbot

Post by rsn8887 »

Garcimak wrote: Thu Oct 21, 2021 5:28 pm hi rsn8887,
not even with higher oc settings ?
I wanted to play it on the go after watching this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQCUGGuUHNQ
it looked enjoyable

Maybe a split version for bladerunner is possible ?
or better waiting until there's improvement for this particuliar game

will try if a new 3ds is a better option ?
Here is a test version for Vita that includes only the engines that were removed from the official release: bladerunner,glk,stark,myst3,grim,titanic
https://files.coolatoms.org/scummvm_test.vpk

Feel free to check out Blade Runner for yourself, I still think it is not playable, too slow.
Garcimak
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 6:04 pm

Re: Some engines not available with latest and stable from buildbot

Post by Garcimak »

thank you rsn8887,

i gave it a try, as it can be installed along with the 'regular' version. Blade Runner (with HDFRAMES.DAT) runs sluggish but it's better with 500mhz OC'd psvshell :
speeches are flawless, occasional stuttering with cinematics, animation can still be slow in large area but running is fast enough.
had an error with the autosave but normal save and keyboard works as planned.
back then when it was released, my old pentium could'nt make it run fast enough to be 'enjoyable'.
i'll let you know if it was the case after giving it a full run, :wink:
rsn8887
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 1:56 am

Re: Some engines not available with latest and stable from buildbot

Post by rsn8887 »

Interesting! Ok keep me updated what you think. I used 444 MHz only, and it was soo slow.
Post Reply