"Use high-quality video scaling" works in KQVII?

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
MrPunchy
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:04 pm

"Use high-quality video scaling" works in KQVII?

Post by MrPunchy » Sat Apr 07, 2018 11:42 pm

I can not see any difference activated or deactivated.

User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Posts: 991
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:03 am
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Post by MusicallyInspired » Thu Apr 12, 2018 4:27 am

I don't think scalers work on hi-res games (640x480~ and up). It's never worked for me either.

MrPunchy
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:04 pm

Post by MrPunchy » Mon Apr 16, 2018 1:46 pm

And no one knows whats the purpose of this option in this game?
Any developer?

User avatar
criezy
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 10:41 am
Location: West Sussex, UK

Post by criezy » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:47 pm

The tooltip says "Use linear interpolation when upscaling videos, where possible".

In the code the option seems to use bilinear interpolation instead of nearest neighbour when upscaling the videos from their original size to the display size. It also switches to 32 bits colors (which is needed by the bilinear interpolation I guess) instead of sticking to the original 256 color palette.

I can't really say more than that since I am not familiar with the SCI engine.

MrPunchy
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 2:04 pm

Post by MrPunchy » Tue Apr 17, 2018 12:49 pm

Thanks for your reply :)

Post Reply