Can ScummVM be run in debug mode on Wii?

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Nintendo Wii port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
47iscool
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 4:04 am
Location: United States

Can ScummVM be run in debug mode on Wii?

Post by 47iscool » Thu May 22, 2014 4:44 am

Is this possible? Because some HBC apps have the argc/argv (arguments) line in them
Last edited by 47iscool on Thu May 29, 2014 5:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

digitall
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 957
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:40 pm

Post by digitall » Thu May 29, 2014 3:12 am

47iscool: Please see http://sourceforge.net/p/scummvm/bugs/6262/

Testing and debugging using Wiiload, debug command line and gdb for remote debugging is on my TODO list... but feel free to try this yourself.

47iscool
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 4:04 am
Location: United States

Post by 47iscool » Thu May 29, 2014 5:41 am

digitall wrote:47iscool: Please see http://sourceforge.net/p/scummvm/bugs/6262/

Testing and debugging using Wiiload, debug command line and gdb for remote debugging is on my TODO list... but feel free to try this yourself.
I have no idea how to use wiiload but thanks anyway. It also means you need a way to connect the PC to the Wii but I don't have anything to do that with. I only use SD and USB.

digitall
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 957
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:40 pm

Post by digitall » Thu May 29, 2014 5:48 am

I am not aware how to send HBC apps a command line, though I haven't looked at this in detail.

http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Wiiload gives a tutorial on using the Wiiload tool with the HBC and several implementations. The Wii requires a working network connection i.e. either WiFi or USB Wired Ethernet adaptor (which are 6-10 GBP from EBay etc.)

digitall
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 957
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:40 pm

Post by digitall » Thu May 29, 2014 6:14 am

Ah, I see. You can pass command lines parameters by adding/modifying <arguments> / <arg> sections of the associated meta.xml e.g.
https://code.google.com/p/abuse-wii/sou ... i/meta.xml

47iscool
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 4:04 am
Location: United States

Post by 47iscool » Thu May 29, 2014 9:28 am

digitall wrote:Ah, I see. You can pass command lines parameters by adding/modifying <arguments> / <arg> sections of the associated meta.xml e.g.
https://code.google.com/p/abuse-wii/sou ... i/meta.xml
I knew I forgot to mention something. It was the xml file, thanks.

Post Reply