buildbot versions and waitcursor problem, and eob question.

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's PocketPC/HandheldPC port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

xoen
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:04 pm

buildbot versions and waitcursor problem, and eob question.

Post by xoen » Thu Mar 01, 2012 2:33 pm

Hello, i decided to register finally.
I have problem with buildbot versions of current line of scummvm and WM device(with 6'5's 21916 rom build).
scummvm doesn't start.
all i can see is waitcursor and it stays this way(=soft reset, to get out of this situation eventually, and therefore, no LOG is made;/).
now, if i remember right, buildbot versions were running ok with WM 6.1, so it is not memory problem.
so..what's the reason?

and another question: from which build we are able to launch EOB(i mean: is any final version able to launch eob? i am aware that exe's divided in final versions, so it may have something to this)?

thanks.

btw, eob support is most awesome thing i can imagine besides elvira support.

and one more information:
lands of lore is working perfectly on device with 26-31 mb of ram free.
so, imho, people with problem with LOL should try with another ROM/game version.
should work flawlessly.

is there any command to enable debugging to track a problem in buildbot build?

xoen
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:04 pm

Post by xoen » Sat Mar 03, 2012 5:55 am

wow, thanks for reply, so alive subforum here.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Sat Mar 03, 2012 10:26 am

Since you're not providing an actual error message, it's quite hard to figure out what's wrong. Cerial (the port maintainer) will probably be the person who could answer your question, if he has the game and can reproduce the problem on a Windows Mobile phone.

EOB is using the kyra engine (same as LoL) and it's supported only in daily versions of ScummVM.

xoen
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:04 pm

Post by xoen » Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:27 am

i cannot post any error msg, since scummvm is not generating log file at all.
that's why i was asking, if debug mode is available through i.e. commandline, or something.
there is no error at all, it is stuck just after exe launch, and waitcursor is visible, that's all.

i just checked last official build(one that exe's divided into parts, not daily one) and everything's working there(but, of course there is not EOB support in that version;/).
i am really to lazy to make wm 6.1 rom to check, if botbuild version's working with 6.1, but i doubt it...

tbh, i want to be understood right:
problem with botbuilds persists since version 1.2.x or so, i had never any problem with earlier betas/alphas, it started on some day and i can see that maybe compiling methods may be responsible(EVERY SINGLE exe builds are behaving same way - waitcursor and nothing more).
why release builds' exe's divided into parts whether daily one is not?
----
btw, THAT Cerial, who made pocketuae??????????????
He is into scummvm now?
wow.
i am still using his abandoned puae...i would love to get sources....

User avatar
pilaxoft
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:42 pm

Post by pilaxoft » Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:29 am

Yes He´s that Cerial, thank godness.
It´s really strange your issue. Tese releases works fine in my hd2 wm6.5.

Regards.

xoen
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:04 pm

Post by xoen » Sat Mar 17, 2012 1:32 pm

pilaxoft wrote:Yes He´s that Cerial, thank godness.
It´s really strange your issue. Tese releases works fine in my hd2 wm6.5.

Regards.
hmm, that's really interesting, maybe i stripped sys too much then...hmm.
OR build platform ceased to support xscale line of devices.

xoen
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:04 pm

Post by xoen » Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:12 pm

wtf.

i just got mail from YOUR forum, here's contents:

Code: Select all

Read and respond to this message at:
http://forums.scummvm.org/viewtopic.php?p=72157#72157
 
buildbot versions and waitcursor problem, and eob question.
By: clingold
 
*** md5: Snip - spam message, no need to repost its contents ***
did you lost CONTROL over your mailing machines?
wtf? is this forum under some kind of attack?

fuzzie
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:02 pm

Post by fuzzie » Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:42 pm

xoen wrote:did you lost CONTROL over your mailing machines?
wtf? is this forum under some kind of attack?
Well, yes.. the forum is under daily attack by spammers. When they manage to post messages past the filters, we delete them pretty quickly (like we did for that one), but if you have e-mail replies enabled then of course you're going to get a mail first. Not much we can do about that.

xoen
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:04 pm

Post by xoen » Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:21 pm

understand.
Last edited by xoen on Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Fri Apr 13, 2012 11:04 pm

fuzzie wrote:
xoen wrote:did you lost CONTROL over your mailing machines?
wtf? is this forum under some kind of attack?
Well, yes.. the forum is under daily attack by spammers. When they manage to post messages past the filters, we delete them pretty quickly (like we did for that one), but if you have e-mail replies enabled then of course you're going to get a mail first. Not much we can do about that.
And, ironically, now the spam has essentially been re-posted. Perhaps that post should be edited? :)

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Sat Apr 14, 2012 1:06 pm

eriktorbjorn wrote:
fuzzie wrote:
xoen wrote:did you lost CONTROL over your mailing machines?
wtf? is this forum under some kind of attack?
Well, yes.. the forum is under daily attack by spammers. When they manage to post messages past the filters, we delete them pretty quickly (like we did for that one), but if you have e-mail replies enabled then of course you're going to get a mail first. Not much we can do about that.
And, ironically, now the spam has essentially been re-posted. Perhaps that post should be edited? :)
Indeed, I've removed the spam message's contents

xoen
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:04 pm

Post by xoen » Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:37 am

sorry for bumping old thread, but is there ANYONE that can make last buildbot(any) build in shape of typical release(i mean exe divided into parts)?
it seems that issue i tried to present here is related to free RAM only.
every release version, that has exe divided ito parts works fine. BUT none of newer 1-exe versions are not able to run(i.e. that one from 1.4.1 release). older were working fine, so i concluded, that new game engines made exe too big to be used on my machine, finally...
since official releases are very rare, please, is there any person that could make this for me?
i really need to see EOB and dreamweb on my machine...

what's weird, i have c.a. 30 mb mem free, 1-exe version has >19 mb, and it's not able to run(hangs on waitcursor). i can imagine buffers etc. but it should still work, damn..
my machine is quite powerful, but it's only disadvantage is ram amount, as optimisation specialist and rommaker i did everything to maximize free ram already...it is not enough, still.

Exolon
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 3:30 pm

Post by Exolon » Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:24 pm

Hi xoen,

same prob here on my iPAQ 214. I have 80MB free RAM and the single exe version is not loading. I tried to activate debug mode to get a stderr and stdout file but with no success.

Unfortunately I can not build the current trunk any more since the switch away from subversion because I haven't updated my build environment.

I there a recent document describing how to set up the current wince build env?

Thanks

Exo

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:49 pm

Exolon wrote:Unfortunately I can not build the current trunk any more since the switch away from subversion because I haven't updated my build environment.
You can still use an SVN client for read only access to the repository, github has provided a git-to-SVN bridge. You can access the repository via subversion via this link:

http://svn.github.com/scummvm/scummvm

Note that you will need to completely replace (i.e. delete and recreate) your old local subversion folder

xoen
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:04 pm

Post by xoen » Thu Jun 07, 2012 2:07 pm

so i need to use special tool to have access there?
link is not working, whatever i do.

also, thank You for answer, appreciate that.

upd: sorry Exolon, i did not see your post earlier, so, it seems, that problem may be not related to mem amount, but cpu line(xscale switch?). on the other hand, smaller exe's should not work too, if it is reason, damn.

What os build are you using? custom, or stock one?
mine's very custom 21916 at this moment.
for some reason i am convinced, that full exe should run with >25 mb mem free.
problem did not exist until some point in time(i do not remember when, but it was related to change in compiling methods, if i am right).


another question:
what exactly scummvm is using to run?
i mean which dll's are needed in system(unzip.dll, that kind of things) to run?
maybe this is the reason, since i replaced many of them with different versions, maybe there's some kind of incompatibility then?
i'd laugh, if problem lie in issue with unpacking SKIN, or something like this, you know....

Post Reply