Can someone compile the Fan Patch of ScummVM for the Wiz?

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's GP2X, GP2X Wiz and Caanoo ports

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
AchillesPDX
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:13 pm

Can someone compile the Fan Patch of ScummVM for the Wiz?

Post by AchillesPDX » Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:16 pm

Or perhaps someone could "teach me how to fish?" I've never compiled anything up before though...

Source code is here:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showpost.php ... tcount=341

My Wiz is showing up today and I'd love to be able to play the fan created Talkie editions of Monkey Island 1&2 on the go.

Talkie patches are here:
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=199288
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=205508

Thanks people!

User avatar
DJWillis
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:55 pm

Post by DJWillis » Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:39 pm

Hi,

This is totally untested but I just did a quick build of the pre-patched code.

I would rather this build is NOT passed around as it is based on older 1.2.0 codebase not 1.2.1 but as I am posting it to a forum I guess that goes out of the window ;).

I'll repeat that I have NOT checked it works and NOT tested the fan patches, I have just built the code drop you linked and configured it for my GP2XWiz backend.

That said, interested to know how you get on.

http://djwillis.openpandora.org/gph/scu ... ed.tar.bz2

AchillesPDX
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:13 pm

Post by AchillesPDX » Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:44 am

Thanks so much for the compile DJWillis! Sadly, it crashes back to the loader menu as soon as I select "ScummVM" from the menu :cry:

Any thoughts?

I'd also be EXTREMELY interested in a nightly build of the current code. The latest build has the COMI subtitle bug preventing them from being turned off :(

AchillesPDX
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:13 pm

Post by AchillesPDX » Sat Jan 15, 2011 5:18 am

DJWillis: Perhaps you could have a look at this:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=de ... tid=418822

And incorporate the patch into the latest version of ScummVM that we know compiles correctly?

I still don't understand why this code change hasn't been committed to the official build...

User avatar
DJWillis
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:55 pm

Post by DJWillis » Sun Jan 16, 2011 5:36 pm

AchillesPDX wrote:DJWillis: Perhaps you could have a look at this:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=de ... tid=418822

And incorporate the patch into the latest version of ScummVM that we know compiles correctly?

I still don't understand why this code change hasn't been committed to the official build...
I'll have a play, the latest build of ScummVM for the GPH devices is 1.2.1, the trunk code for GPH devices and the OpenPandora needs some TCL and seriously limited time on my part has meant that I have not gotten around to sorting it out.

As for the code you linked to, it built correctly, I just don't have my Wiz handy to try it on (and you suggest it fails, did , going to build for the Caanoo (same codebase and paths, just a different compiler) and see if it works there.

Do the scummvm.stderr.txt or scummvm.stdout.txt in the /game/scummvm folder have any contents that may shed some light on why it did not run?

As for the code being taken into trunk, well it's a patch for the SCUMM engine so needs to be agreed by the maintainers of that engine (I am a backend coder not an engine guy), reading the comments it seems it is going through a review process, it's normal and it takes time. People need to make sure it does not cause regressions and fits with the projects take on 'fan versions' for instance before it goes into mainline.

AchillesPDX
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:13 pm

Post by AchillesPDX » Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:00 pm

DJWillis wrote: Do the scummvm.stderr.txt or scummvm.stdout.txt in the /game/scummvm folder have any contents that may shed some light on why it did not run?
After it crashes I don't have a new txt file in the scummvm folder, so it's not even getting to the error message stage. Something's screwy. :cry:

User avatar
DJWillis
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:55 pm

Post by DJWillis » Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:06 pm

AchillesPDX wrote:
DJWillis wrote: Do the scummvm.stderr.txt or scummvm.stdout.txt in the /game/scummvm folder have any contents that may shed some light on why it did not run?
After it crashes I don't have a new txt file in the scummvm folder, so it's not even getting to the error message stage. Something's screwy. :cry:
Yep, the snapshot of 1.2.0 that was taken has a bug in the GPH launch script that I thought was fixed by the time 1.2.0 was tagged (just before tagging).

Anyway, fixed up the archive and uploaded 'MI1 and 2 fan patch' builds for the Caanoo and GP2XWiz, I'll also do the GP2X if there is interest. These are unsupported of course ;).

Caanoo: http://djwillis.openpandora.org/gph/scu ... ch.tar.bz2
GP2XWiz: http://djwillis.openpandora.org/gph/scu ... ch.tar.bz2

AchillesPDX
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:13 pm

Post by AchillesPDX » Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:35 pm

DJWillis wrote:
AchillesPDX wrote:
DJWillis wrote: Do the scummvm.stderr.txt or scummvm.stdout.txt in the /game/scummvm folder have any contents that may shed some light on why it did not run?
After it crashes I don't have a new txt file in the scummvm folder, so it's not even getting to the error message stage. Something's screwy. :cry:
Yep, the snapshot of 1.2.0 that was taken has a bug in the GPH launch script that I thought was fixed by the time 1.2.0 was tagged (just before tagging).

Anyway, fixed up the archive and uploaded 'MI1 and 2 fan patch' builds for the Caanoo and GP2XWiz, I'll also do the GP2X if there is interest. These are unsupported of course ;).

Caanoo: http://djwillis.openpandora.org/gph/scu ... ch.tar.bz2
GP2XWiz: http://djwillis.openpandora.org/gph/scu ... ch.tar.bz2
Sweet Monkey Mothers! It works! You sir, are a God among men! Thank you so much! Portable Monkey Island Talkies are mine!

User avatar
DJWillis
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:55 pm

Post by DJWillis » Sun Jan 16, 2011 8:55 pm

AchillesPDX wrote: Sweet Monkey Mothers! It works! You sir, are a God among men! Thank you so much! Portable Monkey Island Talkies are mine!
Great news, let us know how it stands up to being used in anger.

Just setting up the datafiles from my Stream SE versions of MI1 and 2 to give this a try, damm you, you managed to suck me in. I told myself I was not interested and now I am packing sound samples in OGG ;).

AchillesPDX
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:13 pm

Post by AchillesPDX » Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:18 pm

DJWillis wrote:
AchillesPDX wrote: Sweet Monkey Mothers! It works! You sir, are a God among men! Thank you so much! Portable Monkey Island Talkies are mine!
Great news, let us know how it stands up to being used in anger.

Just setting up the datafiles from my Stream SE versions of MI1 and 2 to give this a try, damm you, you managed to suck me in. I told myself I was not interested and now I am packing sound samples in OGG ;).
I made my OGG version from my steam purchase as well. Works beautifully. Now I need to watch for a sale on LeChuck's Revenge.

AchillesPDX
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:13 pm

Post by AchillesPDX » Sun Jan 16, 2011 9:52 pm

So one final thing before I leave you to your regularly scheduled program: I can't figure out how to get ctrl+a, ctrl+p, and ctrl+q to work to change the Narrator, Dog closeup, and subtitle translation accordingly.

I've tried L+R to pull up the keyboard and enter in the key combos but they don't seem to do anything. I suppose if all else fails I can just move my saved game from the PC version to the Wiz.

User avatar
DJWillis
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 8:55 pm

Post by DJWillis » Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:22 am

AchillesPDX wrote:So one final thing before I leave you to your regularly scheduled program: I can't figure out how to get ctrl+a, ctrl+p, and ctrl+q to work to change the Narrator, Dog closeup, and subtitle translation accordingly.

I've tried L+R to pull up the keyboard and enter in the key combos but they don't seem to do anything. I suppose if all else fails I can just move my saved game from the PC version to the Wiz.
Ahh, yep, the lack of a keyboard would cause that issue :o ;), as it stands there is no way to pump those soft of key combos into the event stack from the virtual keyboard. Not sure what may be the best way to do this....

Post Reply