Change MT-32 Samplerate?

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
User avatar
noize
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:08 pm

Change MT-32 Samplerate?

Post by noize » Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:33 am

Is it possible to change the samplerate for mt-32 in like 22050?
I know in dosbox it is possible, and it save a lot cpu power.
If I remember correctly it was possible one time in Scummvm, but I don't remember how.

It is certainly a variable which can be set, as well as the tuning.

Thanks!

User avatar
LogicDeLuxe
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:54 pm

Re: Change MT-32 Samplerate?

Post by LogicDeLuxe » Sat Feb 11, 2006 12:52 am

noize wrote:Is it possible to change the samplerate for mt-32 in like 22050?
I know in dosbox it is possible, and it save a lot cpu power.
If I remember correctly it was possible one time in Scummvm, but I don't remember how.
In the readme.txt:
--output-rate=RATE Select output sample rate in Hz (e.g. 22050)
Apparently, there are no separate rate settings for different things like it is the case in DOSBox.
Btw., isn't 22050 ScummVM's defualt rate anyway?

MT-32 should be best emulated at 32000 Hz, since it's the native rate for most (maybe all) Roland devices.

User avatar
noize
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:08 pm

Post by noize » Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:44 am

Thanks for your help.

I already tried setting the standard output_rate for scummvm, but that doesn't do anything for munt
If I remember correctly, I used a seperate keyword in the scummvm.ini,
like mt32_samplerate or something.

Yes 32000 is best, and it slows my (old) system down bigtime too.

Right now ScummVM creates Waveformcache-32000-440.00.raw.
When ScummVM would use 22 khz it would be Waveformcache-22050-440.00.raw.

User avatar
wonst719
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 4:55 pm
Location: Seoul, South Korea

Re: Change MT-32 Samplerate?

Post by wonst719 » Sun Feb 12, 2006 10:48 am

Unfortunately, MT-32 emulator now uses fixed output rate at 32000 hz.
Due to bugs which present in the emulator, it produces inaccurate sound other than 32000 hz.
So... It's impossible to change MT-32 output rate without editing sourcecode.

Post Reply