Nokia N900

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Maemo (Nokia N800/N810/N900) port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Kjow
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:43 am

Nokia N900

Post by Kjow » Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:57 am

Hi all,

I'm a new possessor of N900 (from about 18h :p) and I succesfully installed on it the official version:

Maemo package (OS 2006, 2007 and 2008) (3.5M .deb).

Image

It seems to work well, I can run Monkey Island 3 at full speed, with speech and right touchscreen behaviours, but I can't find how to emulate some keys such as ESC.
I found some keys combo, like:

- CTRL+Space for switch Fullscreen
- CTRL+M for Menu (Save, Options, etc)
- CTRL+I for Inventary

Where can I find a full list of combo keys for Maemo?

Thanks!

fanoush
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 3:11 pm

Post by fanoush » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:38 am

Good news. I am a bit surprised it runs on N900. There are indeed some fixes in 1.0.0 needed for N900 but it is compiled for older devices and I expected it to not to install.

N900 support is not complete (and was therefore not announced in NEWS file). ctrl+m and ctrl+space were added for N900 but Escape is currenly missing and menu key too. Both keys are available on all previous devices. Menu key brings up in-game menu, ctrl+m brings up global menu. Do you have any suggestion? Which key is suitable as escape and in-game menu?

I don't have N900 yet so I'm not sure what would be the best.

fanoush
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 3:11 pm

Post by fanoush » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:51 am

And BTW, you can follow up any updates here
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=33126&page=4

Kjow
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:43 am

Post by Kjow » Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:41 am

Great!

I love ScummVM and all Lucas adventures... :)

"ESC" can be emulated by "backspace" [ <- ]),
"crtl+i" for in-game menu
"." to skip dialogues,
possibilities to remap arrows (in non-english keyboard layout there are "up" and "down" in 2° function).

A virtual keyboard would be very appreciated (ctrl+k ? :) ) to insert some text with real qwerty closed or without some special keys.

DarkAlexander
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:21 am

Post by DarkAlexander » Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:25 am

Hi, i have installed ScummVM on my N900 and play with it at Monkey Island 3 and... It go really well! But... If i try to play MI1, MI2, Drascula and others game i can't save/load! With CTRL+M i open the scumm menu BUT the options SAVE/LOAD are black!! How can i resolve it?
Tia!

PS
Sorry for my really bad english, but i'm only a stupid italian guy... :)

goetz
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:11 am

Post by goetz » Sat Jan 23, 2010 12:57 pm

Strange, I am just playing MI1, and have some working Savegames on the N900 already. Is your MI1 a special version? I have MI1(DOS/VGA/German).

Also in MI2 I can call the save/load screens as they should work, version is MI2(DOS/German).

Which ScummVM version are you using? I grabbed the latest from the Extras-Devel repository and it shows "1.0.0 Dec 17 2009 17:13:34" in the launcher.

Just an additional update. All these games were working fine and I completed them on N900:

Loom, Zak, Maniac, DOTT, Sam&Max


With the N900 and its touch screen I had a new record with the "wak a rat" game in Sam&Max: someting like 35 out of 40. :D On Symbian I could only make it up to 20, and that with hard work. :(

Goetz

DarkAlexander
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:21 am

Post by DarkAlexander » Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:47 am

I don't know why... :( I have exaclty the same version of SCUMM! Can u link the MI2 rom are u using? Uff... I really like to play MI2!!

fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1466
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin » Tue Jan 26, 2010 12:04 pm

DarkAlexander, you appear to be using a downloaded copy of the Monkey Island games. That is not legal, and we do not support users who are trying to use warez. I recommend that you buy the games you want to play.

DarkAlexander
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 11:21 am

Post by DarkAlexander » Thu Jan 28, 2010 5:55 pm

Use rom isn't illegal if u own the normal game, and i have all MI. Use ScummVM, isn't illegal too... So i think there isn't problem, allright? I understand my problem but now i have another question... It's possible skip the initial movie of a game?

Oracle
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:26 pm

Post by Oracle » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:14 am

Does anyone know how I can shut down the zoom modus in the main menu without the confige/option button visable? I tried zoomed in 3 times and now my scummvm screen doesn't fit on the n900 no more.

I did a re-install but it rememberd the last configations :(
tnx

goetz
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 10:11 am

Post by goetz » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:21 pm

Just use an editor (like vi in the xterm) to edit .scummvmrc in your home directory. Look for an entry "gfx_mode" in the "[scummvm]" section and set it to:

gfx_mode=2x

That should give you back the normal scaling.

Oracle
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:26 pm

Post by Oracle » Wed Feb 03, 2010 5:45 pm

goetz wrote:Just use an editor (like vi in the xterm) to edit .scummvmrc in your home directory. Look for an entry "gfx_mode" in the "[scummvm]" section and set it to:

gfx_mode=2x

That should give you back the normal scaling.
thx it worked (i used mc). It was pretty hard but it solved the problem :)

zerosix
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:29 am

Post by zerosix » Thu Feb 04, 2010 3:32 am

will next release support myst and/or riven?

sniiki
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 7:49 pm

Post by sniiki » Mon Apr 12, 2010 7:54 pm

I have quite a bit of delay in sound on my N900.
I tested Full Throttle and Sam & Max, with compressed and uncompressed audio, didn't matter.
The delay is about 500 ms.

Is there any trick to fix this?

Torstten
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:47 am

Post by Torstten » Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:51 am

sniiki wrote:I have quite a bit of delay in sound on my N900.
I tested Full Throttle and Sam & Max, with compressed and uncompressed audio, didn't matter.
The delay is about 500 ms.

Is there any trick to fix this?
It could be a problem with your sound driver - the software that runs your sound card.
Last edited by Torstten on Tue Jun 19, 2012 10:37 am, edited 2 times in total.

Post Reply