ScummVM without sound when using the frontend

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Palm port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
Lord Avallon
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:19 am

ScummVM without sound when using the frontend

Post by Lord Avallon » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:10 pm

Hi guys, I am having a strange problem, when I try to run a game from the frontend, it starts normally, but without any sound, if I skip the frontend and go directly to the ScummVM screen (the one black and green) it starts normally with sound. The games are properly configured, I really don´t know what is causing this, my palm is a Tungsten E, ScummVM version 0.11.1.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2258
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:16 pm

What is the "frontend" in this case? :? Cause you mention you got an extra frontend together with ScummVM's one

clem
Posts: 2185
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:19 pm

md5 wrote:What is the "frontend" in this case? :? Cause you mention you got an extra frontend together with ScummVM's one
The PalmOS version comes with a native PalmOS UI frontend/launcher (at least it was that way when I tried it ~2yrs ago) - if you don't select a game there, the usual ScummVM interface would pop up.

User avatar
thatgui
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 9:49 pm

Post by thatgui » Wed Mar 05, 2008 6:28 am

Dumb question:
have you activated sound in the frontend ?

Lord Avallon
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:19 am

Post by Lord Avallon » Wed Mar 05, 2008 7:14 pm

That´s exactly how clem said, when I select a game with the usual ScummVM interface, with all configurations set, it works perfectly with sound, when I try to run the game from the frontend, it works but without any sound, I configured the frontend exactly like i did on ScummVM interface but no sound, and answering you thatgui, yes, I enabled sound on the frontend, it´s not a dumb question, sometimes the lack of attention makes us skip some things. It´s really strange, that´s what i´ve done on the config:

Enabled audio
Driver: Adlib
Quality: High (I tried Low and Medium but no sound)
Rate: 8 KHz

The Entry name, Path, Game and Engine are OK because the game works, the problem is with the sound.

selmi
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 1:22 pm

confirmation

Post by selmi » Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:00 am

i can confirm problem. i have Tungsten T5 if it matters. before i had scummvm 0.9.1 and sound worked. now i upgraded to 0.11.1 and sound is gone

Post Reply