Myst/Riven Engine

All the inane chatter goes in here. If you're curious about whether we will support a game, post HERE not in General Discussion :)

Moderator: ScummVM Team

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Myst/Riven Engine

Post by clone2727 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:54 am

I've done some research into Myst (Riven uses same engine) and came up with a few things:

1. It uses Hypertalk
2. There are some open source interpreters here.

Note: I am not asking for this game to be supported, just giving information out in case anyone wants to look into it.

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post by clone2727 » Thu Nov 09, 2006 2:26 am

I was mistaken - it uses HyperCard.

There is a SourceForge project called FreeCard, if anyone wants to look into that. :P

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post by clone2727 » Tue May 27, 2008 1:51 am

Hmmmm... Well, since some people may still be looking at this, I might as well update it.


Only the original Macintosh version uses HyperCard. The original Win3.1 version of Myst uses Mohawk as well as all versions of Myst Masterpiece Edition (albeit, with 24bpp graphics). Riven (Win/Mac) also uses Mohawk. For more on the engine, look here. Also, the engine mentioned in the "other" forum post (here for those who don't like to search) is still WIP. md5 and I haven't made (no pun intended) much progress in recent months in that area.

Robot_Maker20
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:23 pm

Post by Robot_Maker20 » Sat Jun 21, 2008 9:53 pm

There is a separate project to make an open source Myst/Riven engine, at http://fissure.sourceforge.net/. They don't seem to have got very far, though, but perhaps linking them here might catch the interest of a few more programmers. I'd love to see that project succeed, but I lack the time and ability to make any real contribution myself.

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post by clone2727 » Sun Jun 22, 2008 1:30 am

I tried to e-mail the admin on Fissure last summer, but got no reply.

As in the other post, md5 spoke of our progress. Both of us haven't had much time to work on it. The game is playable with many glitches. The only thing recently that I added was complete variable support and improved load game support. If you'd like to contribute, I'm sure we can work something out. Riven X is still ahead of us in progress, so if you have Mac OS X you could check that out.

User avatar
bobdevis
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:52 am

Post by bobdevis » Fri Jan 01, 2010 4:19 am

Necrobump!

Clone, I see support for Myst and Riven is now in the development builds.
I checked Myst around a bit. Although you can't get very far yet, its cool to see it running.
Good job man. Happy new year!

Image

User avatar
Red_Breast
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:33 pm
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.

Post by Red_Breast » Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:49 pm

Yes I was going to post to say I fired it up after reading about it on Planet ScummVM. Myst that is. I can't find Riven although maybe it's at my mothers house.

Anyway, thanks Clone for the new additions.

scoriae
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:32 am

Post by scoriae » Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:49 am

awesome work clone2727 and to anyone else who is involved.

Red_breast - may i ask what version of myst you used to test it? I have the original windows 3.1 release, the later windows 98 release (might be the same, not sure), and then the masterpiece and "real myst" releases (although I am positive real 3d is a different engine, and the masterpiece edition is most likely not supported either.

edit - I found the scummvm wiki entry and saw that it was the original windows release and the mac masterpiece version that are supported.

Does this mean the windows masterpiece edition did not use mohawk?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3316
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:15 am

scoriae wrote: Does this mean the windows masterpiece edition did not use mohawk?
I don't know about the Macintosh version, but the Windows Masterpiece Edition works almost - but not quite - as well for me as the old Windows version does. (By which I mean I can walk around in it, but not actually do all that much yet.)

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post by clone2727 » Sun Jan 03, 2010 6:50 am

scoriae wrote:awesome work clone2727 and to anyone else who is involved.

Red_breast - may i ask what version of myst you used to test it? I have the original windows 3.1 release, the later windows 98 release (might be the same, not sure), and then the masterpiece and "real myst" releases (although I am positive real 3d is a different engine, and the masterpiece edition is most likely not supported either.

edit - I found the scummvm wiki entry and saw that it was the original windows release and the mac masterpiece version that are supported.

Does this mean the windows masterpiece edition did not use mohawk?
The Win3.1 and Win95 releases should be the same except for the Broderbund logo becoming the Red Orb logo. Myst ME does use Mohawk too. I originally meant to phrase it as "any Windows version (and the Macintosh version of Myst ME)" -- but, there was a miscommunication between my brain and my hands so it didn't come out right. I have fixed it now, sorry for the confusion. RealMyst uses Plasma, Cyan's 3D engine also used in Myst V and Uru, in case you were interested.

As Torbjorn said, you can move around in Myst a bit right now. If you remember how to, you can access D'ni and Stoneship from the start of the game. The ways to reveal how to get to both of them are not yet working, but the solutions do work. :wink:

User avatar
bobdevis
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:52 am

Post by bobdevis » Sun Jan 03, 2010 3:37 pm

Just a screenie of Riven........ because I can ;)
Image

EowynCarter
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 1:03 pm

Post by EowynCarter » Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:07 pm

That sound awesome :)
Maybe at some point, I can play myst and riven on my DS :)
(Woo, riven on DS, would that even work.. )

User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 2008
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev » Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:49 pm

EowynCarter wrote:That sound awesome :)
Maybe at some point, I can play myst and riven on my DS :)
(Woo, riven on DS, would that even work.. )
Not before DS will be able to handle 3GB+ worth of data :)


Eugene

User avatar
bobdevis
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:52 am

Post by bobdevis » Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:10 pm

Even if you had that 3.5 GB, there is the screen size.
If you downscale Riven you can't read the books and notes you find around the place. That 'handwriting' already is on the low-rez side as it is.

User avatar
Red_Breast
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:33 pm
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.

Post by Red_Breast » Sun Jan 03, 2010 5:22 pm

In other words there will be no Myst on the DS Eowyn.
If you look down the list of games that will run on the DS ScummVM they are all DOS era. Windows stuff is just too much for it.

I seem to recall Myst has been released on the DS recently (last couple of years?) by Midway.

Post Reply