Help For A C++ Noob

All the inane chatter goes in here. If you're curious about whether we will support a game, post HERE not in General Discussion :)

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Manannan

Help For A C++ Noob

Post by Manannan »

My apologies if this is totally the wrong forum, but I couldn't find a definite home for questions like these.

I am new to C++, although I am an experienced C# developer.

I am trying to challenge myself by writing a .NET CLI wrapper around the Scumm VM.

As you can see I have linked my CLI project called CLRScrumm.

My strategy is to copy sdl.h, sdl-events and sdl-graphics, rename them as clr-xxx and gut them. Note that the OSystem_CLR is based on sdl.h

My end goal is for C# to pass in a callback function which can be called from clr-graphics.copyRectToScreen.

I managed to those class skeletons compile, but not link. I guess I must be missing some function implementations somewhere, but I can't for the life of me
see where. The errors from the linker are very cryptic.

I would appreciate if someone would:
1. Give me a general strategy for fixing these errors
2. Point me in the right direction for fixing them.

I have my project, which can be found here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/srt1y84yteje4 ... m.zip?dl=0

I wanted to show you guys the whole solution, but it zipped to 600mb.

The error trace is here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/7tg29pyn7d2d6 ... e.txt?dl=0

Thank you
sev
ScummVM Lead

Re: Help For A C++ Noob

Post by sev »

Could the following be of any help: https://github.com/scemino/nscumm

Eugene
Manannan

Post by Manannan »

Thank you for that pointer (notice my C++ joke :)), and I might consider using that if I became totally stuck, but I was really hoping for a C++ wiz to give me some debugging help.

If this is not the forum for this, please let me know and might look elsewhere.
Reckless

Post by Reckless »

Just because you (although in this case, clearly not you specifically) could, it doesn't mean you should... :)