The Dig

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Palm port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
frenchie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:12 pm

The Dig

Post by frenchie »

I am having trouble playing The Dig on my Zodiac 2. I've copied the entire directory from the CD to my SD card, but everytime I try and play the game it partially loads and then my device crashes and there is this screeching that comes from my speakers. What can I do to get my device working?

Edit: I'm using the 2006-01-23 build.

mschoenfelder
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:49 pm

The Dig

Post by mschoenfelder »

I have the same problem.

If you solve it, please tell me ... tks

mschoenfelder
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:49 pm

Error message

Post by mschoenfelder »

On my case, I compress the original game with scumm tools.
When I start the game, black screen and then this message:

"(1:2001:0x1A46): Unknown frame subChunk found: ZFOB,4732"

Anyone knows how to play the dig with this new ARM version ?

Tks

User avatar
glokidd
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 6:50 am
Location: british columbia, canada
Contact:

Post by glokidd »

as far as i know the dig is not yet supported on palmOS.

frenchie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:12 pm

Post by frenchie »

Really? That's a shame. The only Lucas Arts game I have :cry: I guess I'll have to wait then. Thanks glokidd.

flatface
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 2:39 am

Post by flatface »

I'm running the March 7 build on my T|X and it's almost fine -- I can see a bit of the intro movie, but it soft-resets after only a few seconds (about .5 of a second after it changes to the green observatory room) every time. A few notes:

- Warpspeed trial messed ScummVM up, even when disabled. Same as in the TX thread; the screen flashes a bit, then it soft-resets. When removed, the screen flashes, but it works fine afterward.
- UDMH 5.3 registered: Enabled, it gives me the oriblem outlined above (soft-resets); disabled, it just freezes at that point.
- I think this is the point where it's trying to play sounds/voices.
- If I skip the movie, it loads the first scene, but softresets/freezes almost immediately. Could also be because it's trying to play sounds/voices.

Not sure if there's anything that can be done to fix this, but I hope this information will help the developers fix this issue.

--FlatFace

afoldo
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 2:12 am

Re: Error message

Post by afoldo »

mschoenfelder wrote:On my case, I compress the original game with scumm tools.
When I start the game, black screen and then this message:

"(1:2001:0x1A46): Unknown frame subChunk found: ZFOB,4732"

Anyone knows how to play the dig with this new ARM version ?

Tks
I have the exact same problem. I'm using the January "arm" test version, and a compressed The Dig on a LifeDrive with UDMH and UnCache (~10000kb largest free chunk of DBCache).

Haven't tried with the latest SVN.

[edit]
Same exact thing happens with Full Throttle.
[/edit]

Post Reply