Kings Quest IV problems

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's PSP (PlayStation Portable) port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
golddustpeak
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:55 pm

Kings Quest IV problems

Post by golddustpeak » Wed Sep 26, 2007 3:47 pm

Hi all,
I have the most recent version of scummVM 10 installed in my PSP and I’m trying to set it up to play some old Kings Quest games from my SIERRA Collectors Edition.

I have been successful in getting KQ I thru III to load and play on the PSP however KQ V and KQ I SCI are unrecognized by scumm when I enter their respective directories to add the games.

Any suggestions?

Anotherguest
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 1425
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 2:27 pm
Location: Malmoe, Sweden

Post by Anotherguest » Wed Sep 26, 2007 4:14 pm

ScummVM supports AGI games only (KQ1-3 and I believe there is a AGI version of KQ4 too), so I guess you have to find a port of freesci for the PSP to play the other games.

(AGI is the first adventure interpretator done by Sierra and SCI is its successor).

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3316
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:49 pm

Anotherguest wrote:and I believe there is a AGI version of KQ4 too
There is, though apparently it's pretty rare. I don't have it myself, but the Wikipedia article about the game has two screenshots comparing the two versions.

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post by clone2727 » Wed Sep 26, 2007 7:16 pm

Yeah, it was just for sale too. I was hoping to get it, but I forgot about it... :evil:

jak66
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 4:24 pm
Location: UK, Essex

Post by jak66 » Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:09 pm

I break the bad news. There is no FreeSCI port for PSP :(...would it work on DOSbox (It would be 'laggy' however)?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3316
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:15 pm

jak66 wrote:I break the bad news. There is no FreeSCI port for PSP :(...would it work on DOSbox (It would be 'laggy' however)?
The SCI version of King's Quest IV runs with DOSbox, so in theory it would work. Assuming DOSbox runs on the PSP; I have no idea about that.

jak66
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 4:24 pm
Location: UK, Essex

Post by jak66 » Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:44 pm

eriktorbjorn wrote:The SCI version of King's Quest IV runs with DOSbox, so in theory it would work. Assuming DOSbox runs on the PSP; I have no idea about that.
There is a DOSbox port to PSP. I haven't used it myself but have heard that it can be 'laggy' (even with games that run full speed on ScummVM).

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3316
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Fri Sep 28, 2007 7:02 pm

jak66 wrote: There is a DOSbox port to PSP. I haven't used it myself but have heard that it can be 'laggy' (even with games that run full speed on ScummVM).
That wouldn't surprise me. When ScummVM runs an AGI game, it is basically a re-implementation of a game engine that ran on the typical home PC of the mid-eighties. Probably a 286 or 386.

When DOSbox runs the same game, in addition to the game engine itself it also has to emulate all the hardware of that PC. A much bigger task.

User avatar
JonWW
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 10:22 pm

Post by JonWW » Sat Mar 29, 2008 11:45 pm

It is very difficult to enter the dwarf's house with the mouse controls. Is there a way that the arrow keys can be remapped for character movement?

Post Reply