Call for testing (pre-0.9.0 test build)

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's PSP (PlayStation Portable) port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

User avatar
joostp
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:55 pm

Call for testing (pre-0.9.0 test build)

Post by joostp »

Hi there,

I've created a build from today's SVN for anyone interested in helping test the PSP port for the 0.9.0 release.
What specifically needs testing for the 0.9.0 release is:

- The Legend of Kyrandia
- Feeble Files
- The new GUI (especially the PSP layout - feedback is welcome)

Ofcourse using this to test any other supported game is appreciated too.

Note that while this build also has the Cine and AGI engines enabled, they won't be part of the 0.9.0 release and might not work properly or at all on PSP.

Also, please don't mirror these files.
The last thing I want is to have these test versions haunt me for ages.

Thanks!

FW 1.00 package
FW 1.50 package
Last edited by joostp on Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 2070
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev »

May be build in some kind of timebomb? :lol: :lol: :lol:


Eugene
User avatar
joostp
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:55 pm

Post by joostp »

sev wrote:May be build in some kind of timebomb? :lol: :lol: :lol:


Eugene
Hmm, not a bad idea. :)
User avatar
evilgrug
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 4:49 am

Re: Call for testing (pre-0.9.0 test build)

Post by evilgrug »

Thanks for this, I'll be sure to play through a game or two.

GUI and game detection worked fine.
joostp wrote:Note that while this build also has the Cine and AGI engines enabled, they won't be part of the 0.9.0 release and might not work properly or at all on PSP.
The thought of running a text-heavy AGI game on the PSP makes me :cry:
Track505
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:02 pm
Contact:

Post by Track505 »

Looks very nice. Great Work joostp. :?
AlabasterSlim
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:26 pm

Post by AlabasterSlim »

I could test this for Kyrandia.

Where do I place the .dat file? Is it in Eng/1/ directory?
User avatar
joostp
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:55 pm

Post by joostp »

AlabasterSlim wrote:I could test this for Kyrandia.

Where do I place the .dat file? Is it in Eng/1/ directory?
You should place it somewhere where ScummVM can find it.

So either in the same directory where the game's datafiles are (could be Eng/1/ - I'm not very familiar with the game), a directory where your "Extra Path" (you can set this up in the GUI) points to, or the directory where your ScummVM EBOOT is.
AlabasterSlim
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:26 pm

Post by AlabasterSlim »

Ok thanks. I'll put it with the data files and see if that works. I should be able to try this out when I get home from work tonight.
AlabasterSlim
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:26 pm

Post by AlabasterSlim »

Kyrandia runs, but it's pretty slow, although the voices seem fine so it may have always been that slow. I can't remember.

Pushing Start doesn't bring up the Menu however and I see now way to disable subtitles.

As such I'm unable to save the game.
User avatar
joostp
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:55 pm

Post by joostp »

Try clicking "Options" on screen.
AlabasterSlim
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:26 pm

Post by AlabasterSlim »

I did, however the Save Dialog hangs for me and I'm unable to save. I'll give it another try though.
User avatar
joostp
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 490
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:55 pm

Post by joostp »

AlabasterSlim wrote:I did, however the Save Dialog hangs for me and I'm unable to save. I'll give it another try though.
Hmm, I just tried it here and whenever I enter the Options screen the virtual keyboard doesn't appear properly (although it 'works'). It appears to 'hang' but if you disable the keyboard (select) it should save. Atleast it did here.

It would be valuable if you'd file a proper bug report for this issue on the bug-tracker so it can be fixed.
AlabasterSlim
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 12:26 pm

Post by AlabasterSlim »

Ahh, sorry. I'll do that.
pin
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:50 pm

Post by pin »

Hi,,might be helpful if you post what firmware version and which eloader you are using. I tried the 1.0 eboot on a 2.01 psp with eloader 0.97, and I can't even get scummvm to load up - black screen then psp powers off! :( no legend of kyrandia for me
User avatar
kraft
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 2:34 am

Post by kraft »

try the 1.5 eboot. it works but it takes a few seconds longer to launch it
Post Reply