Widescreen mod

Discussions regarding the development of the mod "Grim Fandango Deluxe"

Moderator: ScummVM Team

thedanhil

Widescreen mod

Post by thedanhil »

Hello guys. I saw a video somewhere along YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cigf0ZT9pu0) of someone playing Grim Fandango in a widescreen mode where the sides had been painted on to fit into a (sort of) 16x9 aspect ratio. Now this referred to Grim Fandango Deluxe as a source. So I have a few questions about this.

1: Are you thinking of using this? 2: If you guys did this, how far have you come? Because I am an artist myself and would be interested in helping out with the adding of widescreen backgrounds, so essentially painting the extra details in. 3: How would you implement it? Because I saw a thread about using the 3D lighting data from the remastered version of GF, so I don't know how you will go ahead on that and implement it. I would really appreciate an answer as I would love to contribute to this project; but I am just an artist not a developer or programmer so that is just about the only thing I can do. :D

PS.: Just so you know that I'm not just some kid who likes to fiddle around in Paint or GIMP, but actually know what the hell I'm doing, you can see my stuff at http://danielhildebrand.de (don't worry no viruses or anything shady there) or on http://theonlydaniel.deviantart.com.
JohnnyWalker2001

Re: Widescreen mod

Post by JohnnyWalker2001 »

Hi Daniel, thanks for offering your help. The video in question was actually a mockup made in Aftereffects. In other words, it was just trickery and never actually live. Given that Grim Fandango Remastered adds images to the sides of the screen, it feels like it MIGHT be possible, if we could convince the game to change them for every room, instead of every year.

It's all just conjecture at the moment, though.
ultraneonoirantihero

Post by ultraneonoirantihero »