Cannot add Sword1 & Sword2 on Nintendo Switch

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Nintendo Switch port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
docheadshot
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:58 pm

Cannot add Sword1 & Sword2 on Nintendo Switch

Post by docheadshot »

Hey Guys,
I just got myself a new Nintendo Switch and wanted to play my favorite Games with ScummVM.
Unfortunately I can't add Broken Sword 1 or Broken Sword 2 to the game list in ScummVM 2.2.0, the folders are grayed out.
Broken Sword 2.5 can be added without any problems.
I already made a new copy of the datafile from my original game disks, without any progress.
Does anybody have a clue what I'm doing wrong?
Maybe Sword 1 and Sword 2 are just incompatible with the Nintendo Switch Port?

Regards
Daniel
digitall
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1063
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:40 pm

Re: Cannot add Sword1 & Sword2 on Nintendo Switch

Post by digitall »

I suggest first taking the datafiles and try them on your desktop machine i.e. Win32, OSX, Linux with the latest stable ScummVM release?
If these fail to add correctly, or they don't start, this is either an issue with the datafiles or something was hinky with the last release... maybe try v2.1.0 to see if that works?

If they do add and start fine, then check the "About" dialog in the Switch port to see that Sword1 and Sword2 engines are listed as compiled in.

If this still is an issue, it might be the datafiles naming on your SD card for your Switch. Those two engines have custom detection code and may have issues if you don't
keep the directory structure i.e. clusters subfolder etc.
digitall
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1063
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:40 pm

Re: Cannot add Sword1 & Sword2 on Nintendo Switch

Post by digitall »

If it is a bug in the Switch port release for v2.2.0, you should file a bug at bugs.scummvm.org and check to see if the bug is fixed in the latest development release ie.
https://buildbot.scummvm.org/builds.html
docheadshot
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:58 pm

Re: Cannot add Sword1 & Sword2 on Nintendo Switch

Post by docheadshot »

Thank you Digitall for the replies.
The hint about checking the cluster subfolder solved the problem.
In fact, there were no problems on a desktop computer with the same datafiles.

Thread can be closed.
Post Reply