SCUMM cant detect Lands of Lore

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
grove12345
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 4:21 am

SCUMM cant detect Lands of Lore

Post by grove12345 »

I know support for LOL is either iffy or hasnt been around long.

I got the kyra.dat file in Scumm folder and LOL folder.

Is there anything else i have to do. Is support different for CD version and disk version?
User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3363
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Re: SCUMM cant detect Lands of Lore

Post by eriktorbjorn »

Which version of ScummVM are you using? Even the development version doesn't enable it by default yet. The snapshot builds might support it, if they were built from the trunk ("1.2.0svn..."), but I believe they're currently built from the 1.1.0 branch ("1.1.0pre...") in preparation for the next release, so they probably don't.
KuroShiro
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:42 am
Location: Miyazaki, Japan

Post by KuroShiro »

Yeah, as erictorbjorn said, the releases right now will not detect it as it's not officially supported.

To run Lands of Lore right now, you'll need to compile the source code yourself. There are instruction on doing so in the wiki.
grove12345
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 4:21 am

Post by grove12345 »

i have the latest scummvm for windows.

can i get the link to build the source code?
User avatar
bobdevis
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:52 am

Post by bobdevis »

Instructions are here:
http://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php/Compiling_ScummVM

The source is here;
http://helllabs.org/scummvm/

Good luck ;)
grove12345
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 4:21 am

Post by grove12345 »

eek
what didnt people already do this. Isnt there a file ready to d/l and play?

i got it to work on dos box no problem. I think ill just keep using that
User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3363
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn »

grove12345 wrote: what didnt people already do this. Isnt there a file ready to d/l and play?
Usually, there are daily snapshots made (at least for Windows; possibly other systems as well) of the development version of ScummVM, which can be used by people who don't mind the occasional regressions. But as I said before, at the moment they are made from the 1.1 branch instead so that people can help us test the upcoming release.
User avatar
Red_Breast
Posts: 770
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:33 pm
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.

Post by Red_Breast »

@ grove
In case you're still there and want to try this it's not as hard as it looks.
There are a few different methods on Windows.
When I done it I used the Visual Studio method along with pre-compiled libraries to make it easier.
http://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php/Compi ... ual_Studio

Even though that page looks like a lot of work most of it is about compiling libraries yourself which you can skip with pre-compiled versions.
One extra thing you would need to do is open a file called 'configure' in a text editor.
Find the line:-
add_engine lol "Lands of Lore" no
and change the no to yes then save it.

You can download the source and see where the configure file is at this link:-
http://scummvm.svn.sourceforge.net/view ... mvm/trunk/
To download it select 'Download GNU tarball' from the bottom. It's just under 10MB at the moment.

One thing I'm not sure of is if the game can be completed in it's current state.
Kurufinwe
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 10:22 pm

Post by Kurufinwe »

Can't grove12345 just grab a trunk build from the buildbot? Those seem to work fine with Lands of Lore.
grove12345
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 4:21 am

Post by grove12345 »

Kurufinwe wrote:Can't grove12345 just grab a trunk build from the buildbot? Those seem to work fine with Lands of Lore.
hey thanks for that.
it worked fine.

now if only i get get scummvm to detect at least 1 game on my android. Cant find LOL or Simon the Sorcerer . About to try DOD since the original version should play it
Post Reply