Loom Fm Towns : how choose difficulty ?

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Harrypoppins
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:23 pm

Loom Fm Towns : how choose difficulty ?

Post by Harrypoppins » Sun Dec 13, 2009 1:42 pm

Hi everyone, so all is in the name of the subject.

i heard that 's possible to choose the difficulty of this version of loom but i don't know how, an idea ?

Thanks.

User avatar
Kaminari
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:25 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Kaminari » Sun Dec 13, 2009 2:08 pm

You need to add the boot_param=x option to your game profile in the INI configuration file. Replace 'x' with the appropriate number. If memory serves me right:

0=standard
1=novice
2=expert

User avatar
Harrypoppins
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:23 pm

Post by Harrypoppins » Sun Dec 13, 2009 4:31 pm

Thanks that's work perfectly. ^^

Nikioko
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 12:35 pm

Post by Nikioko » Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:24 pm

Is there a plan to mak ethe choice from the start of the game? This sounds a bit complicated...

User avatar
Harrypoppins
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:23 pm

Post by Harrypoppins » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:09 pm

No, and i don't if it's possible to add this option at some ScummVM release

On mac :
It's in library/Preferences/SummVM Preferences


"SummVM Preferences" is a script with all you option and path when you see "Loom (Fm Towns)" just copy:

boot_param=x

and replace X by your difficulty level.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3315
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:32 pm

Harrypoppins wrote:No, and i don't if it's possible to add this option at some ScummVM release
Well, I suppose you could add a check to the part of ScummVM that checks for the boot param setting, i.e. ScummEngine::ScummEngine(). Something like this, I guess:

Code: Select all

if (_game.id == GID_LOOM && _game.platform == Common::kPlatformFMTowns) {
    if (!ConfMan.hasKey("boot_param")) {
        _bootParam = displaySomeGUIDialogHere( ... );
    }
}
Though it should be possible to specify a boot param as a command-line option to ScummVM, so you could probably simply set up different shortcuts to the game.

But I don't have this version of the game, so I don't know.

Post Reply