Big Red Adventure Cd version

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

smngsk
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 7:42 am
Contact:

Big Red Adventure Cd version

Post by smngsk »

When I try to start this game under scummVm (after copying a the whole Cd on the same directory for saves on the hard disk) ... I get no sound, no music and ScummVm crashes if I try to see the intro... any insights?? is there a fix for this??
Kirben
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:15 pm
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Post by Kirben »

The Big Red Adventure isn't supported yet, and still been worked on.

Try a recent daily snapshot of ScummVM, to see further progress on the game.
smngsk
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 7:42 am
Contact:

Post by smngsk »

thanks I'll try this
arrakis
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:30 pm

Post by arrakis »

Hi all from Spain
I have a question
After the intro, the texts leaves spanish Big Red Adventure and appears in english
Red Big Adventure has text in spanish?
I think the sound is not very good, although I find most fault the game itself
Greetings
User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

arrakis wrote:Hi all from Spain
I have a question
After the intro, the texts leaves spanish Big Red Adventure and appears in english
Red Big Adventure has text in spanish?
I think the sound is not very good, although I find most fault the game itself
Greetings
As mentioned, the Big Red Adventure isn't supported yet, so not everything works as expected
arrakis
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:30 pm

Post by arrakis »

:? Sorry
I supposed that it works in version 1.2. I prove with the Scummvm SVN
Thanks
User avatar
peres
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:57 am

Post by peres »

arrakis wrote:Hi all from Spain
Red Big Adventure has text in spanish?
Greetings
The game is only localized in English, German, French and Italian.
User avatar
BeleG
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:31 pm

Post by BeleG »

peres wrote:The game is only localized in English, German, French and Italian.
That's not correct. The game was in fact sold and localized in Spanish. I can provide the md5 checksums, if you tell me which files you need.
fuzzie
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 178
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 3:02 pm

Post by fuzzie »

BeleG wrote:
peres wrote:The game is only localized in English, German, French and Italian.
That's not correct. The game was in fact sold and localized in Spanish. I can provide the md5 checksums, if you tell me which files you need.
Well, the standard demo and full versions are only localized in those languages, and I've never seen mention of another version, but if you have a copy - is there a 'es' directory or similar under part0/,part1/,etc where there is usually only 'en', 'fr', 'ge' and 'it'?
User avatar
peres
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:57 am

Post by peres »

BeleG wrote:
peres wrote:The game is only localized in English, German, French and Italian.
That's not correct. The game was in fact sold and localized in Spanish. I can provide the md5 checksums, if you tell me which files you need.
We are using the following files to tell the known versions of BRA, so please post their checksums (and filesizes):
- tbra.bmp
- russia.fnt
- request.win

Moreover, I would like to get the checksum of the executable (ADV.EXE): if there are no differences with the known ones then supporting the Spanish version will only be a matter of updating a handful of paths

Thanks.
arrakis
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:30 pm

Post by arrakis »

BeleG wrote:
peres wrote:The game is only localized in English, German, French and Italian.
That's not correct. The game was in fact sold and localized in Spanish. I can provide the md5 checksums, if you tell me which files you need.
BeleG, yo ese juego lo tengo, pero veo localizadas las carpetas en alemán , francés, italiano e inglés por defecto. Pero no veo la carpeta ES :?:
[Folders EN, FR, IT, EN...]
User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

arrakis wrote:
BeleG wrote:
peres wrote:The game is only localized in English, German, French and Italian.
That's not correct. The game was in fact sold and localized in Spanish. I can provide the md5 checksums, if you tell me which files you need.
BeleG, yo ese juego lo tengo, pero veo localizadas las carpetas en alemán , francés, italiano e inglés por defecto. Pero no veo la carpeta ES :?:
[Folders EN, FR, IT, EN...]
English, please
mac_es
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 9:37 am

Post by mac_es »

md5 wrote:
arrakis wrote:
BeleG wrote: That's not correct. The game was in fact sold and localized in Spanish. I can provide the md5 checksums, if you tell me which files you need.
BeleG, yo ese juego lo tengo, pero veo localizadas las carpetas en alemán , francés, italiano e inglés por defecto. Pero no veo la carpeta ES :?:
[Folders EN, FR, IT, EN...]
English, please

Arrakis said:

BeleG,I own that game, but I only see the localized folders of german (ge), french (fr), italian (it) and english (en). Not spanish (es) one
User avatar
BeleG
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 12:31 pm

Post by BeleG »

There you go:

8b68e161ee2c29ab626fafe190eeeac1 *ADV.EXE (183.871 bytes)
6140a3d3c4797792391067e68b9b109c *REQUEST.WIN (4.886 bytes)
70ff97c17f68dba8f05a764eadf668b9 *RUSSIA.FNT (18.344 bytes)
5f36e02ca15b20f10513e4fafcc67d65 *TBRA.BMP (80.972 bytes)


And a couple screenshots out of DOSBox:

Installer
Image
In game
Image

You're right about the folder names, though. Looks like Proein (the Spanish publisher) just took the Italian files and translated them before selling the game.
arrakis
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:30 pm

Post by arrakis »

Sorry

Ok Beleg. Thanks for the info
md5 wrote:
arrakis wrote:
BeleG wrote: That's not correct. The game was in fact sold and localized in Spanish. I can provide the md5 checksums, if you tell me which files you need.
BeleG, yo ese juego lo tengo, pero veo localizadas las carpetas en alemán , francés, italiano e inglés por defecto. Pero no veo la carpeta ES :?:
[Folders EN, FR, IT, EN...]
English, please
Post Reply