Crashes when loading any game

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
jackcos
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:01 pm
Location: England

Crashes when loading any game

Post by jackcos »

I installed ScummVM about 6 months ago, and had started several games on Broken Sword, DOTT etc.

Now when I try to play any game it crashes. I can load up the menu where you install a game or select a game to play, but when I try to play one it doesn't work.

I would make a screenshot of the error message, but there isn't one :?

Please help :!:

Half-unrelated pic:
http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/6513/pict0270jl1.jpg

That's my ScummVM collection right there. Look at all those games not being played :(

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat »

Try updating ScummVM to the latest stable release and if it doesn't work, read the FAQ on how to get an error report and submit a bug report.

jackcos
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:01 pm
Location: England

Post by jackcos »

Image

After reinstalling Scumm with the latest build it now comes up with this error message :([/img]

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

This error is due to UAC in Vista. Either turn it off, or run ScummVM as an administrator
http://gaskell.org/the-requested-operat ... ows-vista/

jackcos
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:01 pm
Location: England

Post by jackcos »

Thanks md5

After running as Administrator, It opens up and with the updated ScummVM files, the games also play.

Fixed :)

jackcos
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:01 pm
Location: England

Post by jackcos »

Sorry for double post, but...

it isn't fixed.

The only games that run are the BS games, and the rest just close upon opening :(

I'm going to try deleting the game files and re-installing them to Scumm, and then I'll report back :wink:

clem
Posts: 2185
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem »

md5 wrote:This error is due to UAC in Vista. Either turn it off, or run ScummVM as an administrator
What does ScummVM try to do to need these privileges? I don't have Vista, but it seems odd to me that the OS doesn't allow a game interpreter.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

That message shouldn't pop up at all. But then again, UAC is the first thing I turn off in Vista, as it gets on my nerves...

wfeltmate
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 8:08 pm

Post by wfeltmate »

First thing I turn off with Vista is Vista. Haha
That crap OS drove me to (finally) completely switch to linux

Post Reply