CoMI runs only in 640x480. My screen res is 1600x1200

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

oernii
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:42 pm

CoMI runs only in 640x480. My screen res is 1600x1200

Post by oernii »

My screen res is 1600x1200, I have also tryed 1280x1024, but no luck. Why is that?

These were tryed: 2x, 2xsai, super2xsai, supereagle, advmame2x, hq2x,
tv2x)

PS: ScummVM Last updated: $Date: 2005/11/18 22:56:13 $
Release version: 0.9.0-CVS


Log:
C:\ScummVM>scummvm.exe --config=scummvm.ini -u --savepath=saves -d 3 -g 2x comi
Debuglevel (from command line): 3
Looking for comi
Trying to start game 'The Curse of Monkey Island'
File comi.000 not found
File 00.LFL not found
File Maniac Mansion (E).prg not found
File Maniac Mansion (F).prg not found
File Maniac Mansion (SW).prg not found
File Maniac Mansion (U).prg not found
File maniac1.d64 not found
File zak1.d64 not found
File 000.LFL not found
Output sample rate: 22050 Hz
File comi.sou not found
File comi.sof not found
File comi.sog not found
File comi.so3 not found
File monster.sou not found
File monster.sof not found
File monster.sog not found
File monster.so3 not found
File comi.tlk not found
DEBUG: room number in boot = 0
DEBUG: sputm-debug = 1
SO_VERB_LINE_SPACING 24: not yet implemented
DEBUG: exit room 1
DEBUG: exit room 1

User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 2050
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev »

I think it will not let you to switch to more than 1x for 640x480 games right on the launch. You should switch manually when ScummVM starts playing the game.


Eugene

oernii
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 6:42 pm

Post by oernii »

sev wrote:I think it will not let you to switch to more than 1x for 640x480 games right on the launch. You should switch manually when ScummVM starts playing the game.
Eugene
How can I do that? the only thing that works is fullscreen, which I had not in mind.

fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1466
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin »

Please read the README, it is all explained in there!

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

I can't change graphics filters at all when ScummVM is in windowed mode. ScummVM allows me to switch to a higher resolution (1280x960 only, by pressing Control-Alt-"+") and then all filters can be used, but not on 640x480. So, it's either 640x480 windowed with no filters, 1280x960 with all filters or full screen with all filters

User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 2050
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev »

md5 wrote:So, it's either 640x480 windowed with no filters, 1280x960 with all filters or full screen with all filters
Of course, what would you expect? :) COMI has native 640x480 resolution, that's the original graphics resolution, not scaled one. And 1280x960 is 2x, not 3x or 4x for this game.


Eugene

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

Yes true :) however 640x480 is too small and 1280x960 too big! :P

benjwalker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 11:33 am

Post by benjwalker »

Anyone found a resolution to this problem? (pun intended) I'm having the same problem on my new laptop, though I've had it working fine and dandy on my PC.

Why isn't aspect ratio correction scaling the 640x480 up?

fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1466
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin »

Err, what problem is there to resolve?

CoMI starts just fine for me with a 2x scaler:

./scummvm -g2x comi

And you never will be able to apply a "scaler" in 1x mode (i.e 640x480), obviously. And aspect ration correction is not required for COMI either, it already is based on square pixels (only the old 320x200 games need ARC).

benjwalker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 11:33 am

Post by benjwalker »

I'm running both my PC and my laptop at 1024x768 with full screen, aspect ratio, and super2xsai.

COMI fills the screen on my PC, but on my laptop it doesn't!

Regular is smaller than my screen, 2x is bigger than my screen.

User avatar
Kaminari
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:25 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Kaminari »

I think those people are asking for non-integer scalers. Is it even feasible?

User avatar
IIGS_User
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:09 pm
Location: ger
Contact:

Post by IIGS_User »

benjwalker wrote:COMI fills the screen on my PC, but on my laptop it doesn't!
When using the laptop, do you mean there are small black boxes on the left and on the right of the screen, is it eventually a wide-screen display displaying a standard-sized graphic?

My PowerBook G4 shows also black boxes left and right, if not set to a wide-screen screen resolution.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3330
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn »

Kaminari wrote:I think those people are asking for non-integer scalers. Is it even feasible?
Probably. But the scaling is already complicated by aspect ratio correction and having a separate scaler for the cursor, compared to the rest of the graphics, to accomodate for some Humongous Entertainment games.

So to me, adding non-integer scalers seems like much more headaches than it's worth.

benjwalker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 11:33 am

Post by benjwalker »

Sorry I was confusing aspect ratio with scaling I think.

Is some kind of resolution switching the answer?

Must be a reason it works fine on one computer running at 1024x768!

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3330
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn »

benjwalker wrote:Sorry I was confusing aspect ratio with scaling I think.

Is some kind of resolution switching the answer?

Must be a reason it works fine on one computer running at 1024x768!
When running in fullscreen mode, ScummVM tries to switch to the resolution used by the scaled / aspect ratio corrected image. For The Curse of Monkey Island, that'd be 640x480, 1280x960 or 1920x1440 for 1x, 2x and 3x scalers respectively. (Aspect ratio correction is only used for 320x200 games, to stretch them to 320x240 or a multiple thereof.)

I don't know how things behave on Windows or Mac, but on my Linux box, if it turns out the exact desired resolution isn't supported, it picks the next larger one, so the image is shown fullscreen, but with a black border around it.

Post Reply