Broken Sword

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

User avatar
Yuruka
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:58 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Broken Sword

Post by Yuruka »

I'm having problems with broken sword, I load it up, it takes about 30 seconds to load the cutscenes (That's not my problem, that's fine) and then at the beginning where he takes the sheet off of himself and brushes his arms off (lol) it just closes.

It closes when I'm just about to take control of him.

I've uninstalled Scumm, reinstalled it but to no avail.

clem
Posts: 2185
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem »

Do you get any error message? Which version of ScummVM are you using? Which OS are you playing on? If it's XP or Vista, see FAQ 5.6 on how to see an error message in case the window closes too quickly.

edit: oops, linked to 5.5 instead of 5.6 - fixed

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat »

well, I don't think the cutscene is hanging, it's actually black for the first 30 seconds of the game. but then again, you didn't describe this issue in detail.

User avatar
Yuruka
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:58 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Yuruka »

Well it just closes straight away, I can't see what the Prompt says, it closes as SOON as I'm about to take control of the character.

here

Image
Last edited by Yuruka on Tue Aug 26, 2008 8:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

clem
Posts: 2185
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem »

Yuruka wrote:Well it just closes straight away, I can't see what the Prompt says, it closes as SOON as I'm about to take control of the character.
clem wrote:If it's XP or Vista, see FAQ 5.6 on how to see an error message in case the window closes too quickly.

User avatar
Yuruka
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:58 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Yuruka »

I posted it ;)

User avatar
Yuruka
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:58 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Yuruka »

Bump - Scroll up to read my error message.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3323
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn »

"Assertion failed: dataSize > 0, file common/stream.cpp, line 39"... could it be some file that's gotten corrupted and/or truncated? Have you tried re-copying them from the CD?

There's supposed to be some speech ("As i picked myself up ...") after George brushes himself off, and this is probably the first speech in the game that doesn't come from a cutscene, so speech1.clu (that is, the speech.clu from the first CD) is one possible suspect.

(I'm not familiar with later releases of the game, but the original one had one speech.clu on each of the two CDs.)

User avatar
Yuruka
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:58 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Yuruka »

Oh I see, thanks for the help.

I'll re-copy them and tell you what happens =].

- UPDATE -

I looked in the speech folder and there was a file called

SPEECH1.CL3

And also

SPEECH1.CLU

So I moved .CL3, and it worked.

Heh thanks.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

Yuruka wrote:Oh I see, thanks for the help.

I'll re-copy them and tell you what happens =].

- UPDATE -

I looked in the speech folder and there was a file called

SPEECH1.CL3

And also

SPEECH1.CLU

So I moved .CL3, and it worked.

Heh thanks.
*Cough* forum rule #0 *cough* the ORIGINAL game doesn't have any *.cl3 files *cough*

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat »

heh, that's what I thought too. Tsk. Pirate.

Arantor
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 11:10 pm

Post by Arantor »

Daft question but is it possible to compress the CLU files with MP3 encoding?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3323
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn »

Arantor wrote:Daft question but is it possible to compress the CLU files with MP3 encoding?
The ScummVM Tools include programs to compress the sound and music for the Broken Sword games. See the README file. It doesn't work for any of the other CLU files, though.

(In theory, you could probably write a program to scan for the sound effects in the other CLU files, and compress those. I don't know if it would be worth it, though. My guess is that the bulk of those files are the graphics.)

User avatar
Yuruka
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:58 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Yuruka »

Pirate?

Not Really.

It's just that the DVD drive I'm using now wont open, and I have the Sold-Out double pack.

So I decided to use my friends' backup files.

I guess he's a pirate then

yarr harr.

clem
Posts: 2185
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem »

Your excuses are quite entertaining; I am looking forward to hearing more from you.

Post Reply