Cant run Kyrandia 2 & 3 - scummvm cant find the game fol

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

User avatar
LordHoto
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by LordHoto » Tue Aug 12, 2008 8:50 pm

rafi wrote:
LordHoto wrote:
rafi wrote:
fingolfin wrote:That means you still have an outdated kyra.dat file somewhere, as was suggested several posts above. Find it, delete it, make sure you have the correct kyra.dat in place, try again.
You sure about that? The error says I have kyra.dat version 31, where it's looking for version 28! Unless I'm missing something, it's telling me that I have a NEWER kyra.dat file than what it can work with, right??

I checked and double-checked, and I'm using the kyra.dat file found here, and it's the only one on my entire HD.

That's the right one, right?

Rafi
Actually you should have an outdated 0.12.0pre version or something. And thus the file linked there is too recent for your ScummVM version. The Mac version should usually have kyra.dat bundled in the application, so no need to worry about kyra.dat.
Hmm... I'm running 0.12.pre-1, which says it was released August 6...
Yeah it was changed in between.

User avatar
rafi
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2008 5:27 pm

Post by rafi » Tue Aug 12, 2008 8:52 pm

LordHoto wrote:
rafi wrote:
LordHoto wrote: Actually you should have an outdated 0.12.0pre version or something. And thus the file linked there is too recent for your ScummVM version. The Mac version should usually have kyra.dat bundled in the application, so no need to worry about kyra.dat.
Hmm... I'm running 0.12.pre-1, which says it was released August 6...
Yeah it was changed in between.
Ahh... So where can I find a more recent (than 8/6) build for OS X?

-Rafi

User avatar
Vinterstum
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 6:59 am

Post by Vinterstum » Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:14 am

rafi wrote:
LordHoto wrote:
rafi wrote:
LordHoto wrote: Actually you should have an outdated 0.12.0pre version or something. And thus the file linked there is too recent for your ScummVM version. The Mac version should usually have kyra.dat bundled in the application, so no need to worry about kyra.dat.
Hmm... I'm running 0.12.pre-1, which says it was released August 6...
Yeah it was changed in between.
Ahh... So where can I find a more recent (than 8/6) build for OS X?

-Rafi
You misunderstand, I think :). The snapshot of ScummVM for OS X already includes kyra.dat, you run into problems because ScummVM finds the one you downloaded yourself, instead of the one that comes included.

That said, I'll push out a new snapshot within a day or two.

User avatar
LordHoto
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by LordHoto » Wed Aug 13, 2008 10:17 pm

Just wanted to say, that with the next snapshot the game should be properly detected as Mac version.

User avatar
chas-g
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: UK

Post by chas-g » Thu Sep 04, 2008 11:34 pm

clem wrote:A specific list of the files ScummVM expects can be found on the datafiles page.

With kyra3 sometimes people forget to copy WESTWOOD.001 since that one is in a different folder. I think ScummVM expects all these files in one folder. Not sure about HoF.
Using the latest ScummVM 12.0
I also couldn't get Kyrandia 3 DOS game disc to be detected by Scumm (1 & 2 no problems) & got the same message as wulv
. So I copied over the Malcolm folder & put WESTWOOD.001 in with it & pointed Scumm to it & bingo!

Is there anyway to get ScummVM to detect the game from the original game disc? I expect the only way to do it would be to create a new game disc with just the Malcolm folder.

Do you need the two .DRV files present in the Malcolm folder?

And do you need all of the .VQA files & not just *0.VQA ? (as mentioned on the Datafiles page)

User avatar
Kaminari
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:25 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Kaminari » Fri Sep 05, 2008 2:37 am

Try pointing the Extra Path option to the root of the CD. That way, you shouldn't need to copy the westwood.001 file to your HD.

User avatar
chas-g
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: UK

Post by chas-g » Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:53 am

Kaminari wrote:Try pointing the Extra Path option to the root of the CD. That way, you shouldn't need to copy the westwood.001 file to your HD.
Thanks Kaminari, but ScummVM won't use the Malcolm folder & doesn't see WESTWOOD.001 when I have the game disc in.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3316
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Fri Sep 05, 2008 9:33 am

chas-g wrote: And do you need all of the .VQA files & not just *0.VQA ? (as mentioned on the Datafiles page)
Currently, ScummVM only uses the *0.VQA movies. The ones numbered 1 and 2 are the same movies but smaller, presumably made for slower computers.

User avatar
chas-g
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: UK

Post by chas-g » Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:19 am

eriktorbjorn wrote:
chas-g wrote: And do you need all of the .VQA files & not just *0.VQA ? (as mentioned on the Datafiles page)
Currently, ScummVM only uses the *0.VQA movies. The ones numbered 1 and 2 are the same movies but smaller, presumably made for slower computers.
Thanks eriktorbjorn,

My real aim is to have my K3 game disc useable by ScummVM like all my other ScummVM friendly game cds. I can't help wondering if the Scumm engine for K3 has been done different to the other 2 Kyrandias because as I've said before the other 2 Kyrandias run fine straight from the disc!

Still for the time being carrying on with the HD. method, I've deleted all the extra .VQA files & the game still runs ok - saving 118 mb of space! But what about BENCHL.VQA ?

There still remains the question of the two .DRV files ?

User avatar
LordHoto
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by LordHoto » Fri Sep 05, 2008 10:40 am

chas-g wrote: ... I can't help wondering if the Scumm engine for K3 has been done different to the other 2 Kyrandias because as I've said before the other 2 Kyrandias run fine straight from the disc!
First of all it's ScummVM engine, not Scumm engine, Scumm would never support Kyrandia 3. And second the first two games just run fine from CD, because there all files are within a single directory.
chas-g wrote: Still for the time being carrying on with the HD. method, I've deleted all the extra .VQA files & the game still runs ok - saving 118 mb of space! But what about BENCHL.VQA ?

There still remains the question of the two .DRV files ?
Hm does BENCHL.VQA match *0.VQA? And is *.DRV listed on the datafiles page?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3316
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:02 pm

chas-g wrote: Still for the time being carrying on with the HD. method, I've deleted all the extra .VQA files & the game still runs ok - saving 118 mb of space! But what about BENCHL.VQA ?
I never managed to figure out what the BENCHL.VQA file is. If it's a movie, ScummVM doesn't know how to play it, and from what I remember it doesn't even contain any FINF (frame information) chunks. Other than that, the only VQA file I had trouble with when writing the VQA decoder was JUNG2.VQA. There's a workaround in the code so that it should be possible to play it, but - as I said before - ScummVM doesn't ever try to.

(The VQA decoder is based on this specification. I wouldn't know how to do that kind of reverse-engineering myself.)

User avatar
chas-g
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: UK

Post by chas-g » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:26 pm

LordHoto wrote:
chas-g wrote: ... I can't help wondering if the Scumm engine for K3 has been done different to the other 2 Kyrandias because as I've said before the other 2 Kyrandias run fine straight from the disc!
First of all it's ScummVM engine, not Scumm engine, Scumm would never support Kyrandia 3. And second the first two games just run fine from CD, because there all files are within a single directory.
chas-g wrote: Still for the time being carrying on with the HD. method, I've deleted all the extra .VQA files & the game still runs ok - saving 118 mb of space! But what about BENCHL.VQA ?

There still remains the question of the two .DRV files ?
Hm does BENCHL.VQA match *0.VQA? And is *.DRV listed on the datafiles page?

I thank you for your informative but not particularly friendly reply!

I realise that its a ScummVM engine & not a Scumm engine.
I for one make the effort to spell it correctly virtually every time unlike a lot of posts that I've seen. But slap my wrists I got lazy that time, oh dear!!!

Your other criticism saying how does BENCH.VQA match 0.VQA
Whilst I am not stupid, people sometimes seek reasurance even when it appears that the facts/solutions are staring them in the face. A simple no you don't need it would have done the job!!

User avatar
chas-g
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: UK

Post by chas-g » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:30 pm

eriktorbjorn wrote:
chas-g wrote: Still for the time being carrying on with the HD. method, I've deleted all the extra .VQA files & the game still runs ok - saving 118 mb of space! But what about BENCHL.VQA ?
I never managed to figure out what the BENCHL.VQA file is. If it's a movie, ScummVM doesn't know how to play it, and from what I remember it doesn't even contain any FINF (frame information) chunks. Other than that, the only VQA file I had trouble with when writing the VQA decoder was JUNG2.VQA. There's a workaround in the code so that it should be possible to play it, but - as I said before - ScummVM doesn't ever try to.

(The VQA decoder is based on this specification. I wouldn't know how to do that kind of reverse-engineering myself.)

Eriktorbjorn,

Again thanks, are you saying I should keep this file, just in case it's needed?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3316
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:41 pm

chas-g wrote: Again thanks, are you saying I should keep this file, just in case it's needed?
LordHoto is the maintainer for the Kyrandia engine, and I believe he wrote the list of required data files (which does not list BENCHL.VQA), so he's the voice of authority on this.

All I'm saying is that I don't think it's a movie file like the other VQA files, and if it is then ScummVM is not able to play it. (Or at least it wasn't when I wrote the decoder for them. I can't check at the moment.)

User avatar
LordHoto
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by LordHoto » Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:16 pm

I for one make the effort to spell it correctly virtually every time unlike a lot of posts that I've seen. But slap my wrists I got lazy that time, oh dear!!!
Well actually it's just that too many people believe all the other game engines we support have some code in common with the SCUMM games, which is not true.
Whilst I am not stupid, people sometimes seek reasurance even when it appears that the facts/solutions are staring them in the face. A simple no you don't need it would have done the job!!
Well the datafiles list is not just some random file list, it's the accurate list of files needed for a game, thus I find it myself a bit strange - as in you believe that datafiles list is just a joke - to ask about if you need files not listed on the page.

Of course sometimes there *might* be errors for newly supported games, but well that's not really often the case and especially not for a after ScummVM release.
eriktorbjorn wrote:All I'm saying is that I don't think it's a movie file like the other VQA files, and if it is then ScummVM is not able to play it. (Or at least it wasn't when I wrote the decoder for them. I can't check at the moment.)
Actually it should be the movie file used by the installer to determine which VQA quality to use AFAIK.

Post Reply