Cant run Kyrandia 2 & 3 - scummvm cant find the game fol

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

wulv
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 12:59 pm

Cant run Kyrandia 2 & 3 - scummvm cant find the game fol

Post by wulv »

Hello...

According to ScummVM, I should be able to play all 3 games of Kyrandia. The first game worked perfectly but I can't get the second and third game to work

I've tried to copy the files from the cd but ScummVM says that it "could not find any game in the specified directory"

I've tried to add the KYRA.dat file to the folder but it doesn't work

I hope somebody can help me

Thanks,
Wulv

clem
Posts: 2160
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem »

A specific list of the files ScummVM expects can be found on the datafiles page.

With kyra3 sometimes people forget to copy WESTWOOD.001 since that one is in a different folder. I think ScummVM expects all these files in one folder. Not sure about HoF.

wulv
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 12:59 pm

Post by wulv »

Hi Clem,
Thank you for your quick answer.

It still doesn't work.

My scummvm version is 0.11.1

I created a "kyra2" folder (for kyrandia 2) and copy these files:

*.PAK
*.TLK
FILEDATA.FDT
kyra.dat (231k or 183k versions)

and it still don't work.

What can be the problem?

clem
Posts: 2160
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem »

I looked at the source (engines/kyra/detection.cpp) and ScummVM is looking for the file 'FATE.PAK' to detect Hand of Fate - do you have that file in the folder?

If that isn't the cause I don't know what is.

wulv
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 12:59 pm

Post by wulv »

Yes, I have FATE.PAK in the folder.

The folder contains total of 122 files (including kyra.dat).
All of them were copy from the CD of kyra2 (from this files list: http://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php/Dataf ... nd_of_Fate)

User avatar
LordHoto
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1029
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by LordHoto »

wulv wrote:My scummvm version is 0.11.1
You need an SVN build of ScummVM for kyra2 and kyra3 support, like it's stated in the news items.

clem
Posts: 2160
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem »

LordHoto wrote: You need an SVN build of ScummVM for kyra2 and kyra3 support, like it's stated in the news items.
Ouch. I should've noticed that :)

wulv
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 12:59 pm

Post by wulv »

I'm sorry: what is SVN build ?

User avatar
LordHoto
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1029
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by LordHoto »


wulv
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 12:59 pm

Post by wulv »

It's working!!! Perfectly!

I didn't knew I needed the SVN build.

thank you so much for your help! I'm so happy! :)

cmdrcool
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:53 am

Kyrandia 3: Malcolm's Revenge

Post by cmdrcool »

Also about Kyrandia 3:
Tried to run it, using the latest ScummVM SubVersion Build (2894K exe file, last update: July 8, 2008, 4:52 pm).

ScummVM finds the game now in the directory. Click on START GAME and CRASH.

What is the problem? Can anybody help me please? :cry:

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

What do you mean by "crash"? Does it actually crash or does it close abruptly? Did you copy ALL the necessary data files? (including westwood.001)

cmdrcool
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:53 am

Post by cmdrcool »

sorry, wasnt clear.

by crashing I mean that suddenly ScummVM is gone. The application completely stops. No error message or anyhting else. Just click on start game and ... back to the desktop.

and yes, i did copy all the files.

cmdrcool
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:53 am

Post by cmdrcool »

GOT IT:

I fixed it myself. Here the solution:
- You need the ScummVM latest SV build
- copy all files from malcolm CD folder malcolm + westwood.001
- also get a hold of the latest kyra.dat file! there is a special version there as well! here the link: http://scummvm.svn.sourceforge.net/svnr ... a/kyra.dat

good luck with it.

User avatar
tectronic
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Hungary

Post by tectronic »

Hi,

I have a same problem as CMDRCOOL posted. I read back this topic and i make all the steps, but when i start kyrandia 3 the scummvm is gone. I have a cd-rom version of the game. The other games in scummvm is run perfectly. Any idea what is wrong. Please help.

Thanks in Advance
Last edited by tectronic on Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply