ScummVM not working after years of use

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

ManuelCalavera

ScummVM not working after years of use

Post by ManuelCalavera »

I have been using ScummVM for about about 3 years with no problems. So today after using scummvm about 30 minutes before, I went to open it and got an error message. The message pops up for about a second then goes away so I did a print to screen to get a snapshot.

At first I got this error message which I fixed.

The default location of the config file (scummvm.ini) in ScummVM has changed, under Windows NT4/2000/Vista. You may want to consider moving your config file from the old default location: C:\Windows\scummvm.ini
to the new default location: C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Application Data\ScummVM\scummvm.ini

After correcting the error I tried again to run the program and got another error message.

Config file buggy: Junk found in line line 145: 'Zak McKracken\'!

I would really apreciate the help I dont know what I would do if I couldent play my old games anymore.
Longcat

Post by Longcat »

sounds like somethings gone bad in scummvm.ini.
try deleting it.

and what version of ScummVM are you currently using? it sounds to me like you haven't updated it for a while:)

get the latest stable build from scummvm.org and install it.
Last edited by Longcat on Sat May 24, 2008 9:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer

Re: ScummVM not working after years of use

Post by eriktorbjorn »

ManuelCalavera wrote: Config file buggy: Junk found in line line 145: 'Zak McKracken\'!
The error message means that ScummVM thinks you have a line that looks just like this in your configuration file:

Zak McKracken\