Change scummvm.ini path?

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Muyfa666
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:46 pm

Change scummvm.ini path?

Post by Muyfa666 »

Is it possible to change the path for scummvm.ini from C:\WINDOWS to something more local? I format often, and equally often I forget to backup this little file. Is it possible to place it locally in the install dir or something?

User avatar
PsYcO
Got 2 warnings
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:27 pm
Location: UK, Enfield
Contact:

Post by PsYcO »

far be it of me to judge you like this but if you *really* have to reformat as frequent as you make it seem, then i think it would be beneficial to you to acquire some from of protection, asuming of course that you don't do it for fun.

Muyfa666
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:46 pm

Post by Muyfa666 »

I do have good protection, but even with that computers tend to slow after a while with all installing/uninstalling etc. Is this a stupid question? I dunno.

User avatar
PsYcO
Got 2 warnings
Posts: 512
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 9:27 pm
Location: UK, Enfield
Contact:

Post by PsYcO »

no, not at all

but then why don't you keep the stuff you install, or just get a bigger HDD and/or more RAM

User avatar
DrMcCoy
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 595
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Contact:

Post by DrMcCoy »

Muyfa666 wrote:I do have good protection, but even with that computers tend to slow after a while with all installing/uninstalling etc.
Hmm, I've installed my OS (Debian GNU/Linux Sid) in 2000 (transfering it from system to system and keeping the installed packages up-to-date) IIRC, and I've never noticed any tendency to slow down...

(</flamebait> ;))

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1611
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post by clone2727 »

The README clearly states:
-c, --config=CONFIG Use alternate configuration file

fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1452
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin »

And in addition, the default scummvm.ini location isn'c C:\WINDOWS anymore, either. It'll only use that location if there is already a scummvm.ini in that place.

Muyfa666
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:46 pm

Post by Muyfa666 »

This is of course a really noob question, but how do I use that change command in practise? I really have a hard time to grip the ScummVM command line options.

EDIT: Nevermind. I actually managed to figure it out. Tnx for all your help fellas. :-)

User avatar
Praetorian
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 262
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 am
Location: Greece
Contact:

Post by Praetorian »

My question is similar so I won't start a new topic.
I am building a patch for a scummvm supported game and want to be able to locate the scummvm.ini that the current installation of scummvm uses.

Is this stored anywhere or should I search the default locations (based on the windows version and the implied order of precedence for the default paths) ?

User avatar
Kaminari
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:25 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Kaminari »

If you don't specify any config file via the command line, the default path is:

C:\Documents and Settings\Your Name\Application Data\ScummVM

User avatar
Praetorian
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 262
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:54 am
Location: Greece
Contact:

Post by Praetorian »

Actually according to the readme.txt the default locations vary depending on the operating system. And for those that are running previous versions of ScummVm (which is a possibility for the end user that I can't overlook) the default directory was the $WINNT dir.
By default, the configuration file is saved in, and loaded from:

Windows Vista:
\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\ScummVM\scummvm.ini,

Windows 2000/XP:
\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\ScummVM\scummvm.ini,

Windows NT4:
<windir>\Profiles\username\Application Data\ScummVM\scummvm.ini,

Windows 95/98/ME:
<windir>\scummvm.ini,

If an earlier version of ScummVM was installed under Windows, the previous default location of '<windir>\scummvm.ini' will be kept.

Unix:
~/.scummvmrc

Mac OS X:
~/Library/Preferences/ScummVM Preferences

Others:
scummvm.ini in the current directory
So basically for Windows O.S. I am first searching in the default path for 0.X.0, and then -if nothing found- I search for the '<windir>\scummvm.ini'. But there is nothing I can do if the user has specified another config file via the command line.

User avatar
Kaminari
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:25 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Kaminari »

Praetorian wrote:But there is nothing I can do if the user has specified another config file via the command line.
If the user specified a custom path, chances are its the current progdir.

User avatar
JohnnyWalker2001
Posts: 405
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by JohnnyWalker2001 »

Hmmmmmmm. My new install of ScummVM "OXO" on Vista has placed the ScummVM.ini file here:

C:\Users\Johnny\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Windows

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3358
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn »

JohnnyWalker2001 wrote:Hmmmmmmm. My new install of ScummVM "OXO" on Vista has placed the ScummVM.ini file here:

C:\Users\Johnny\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Windows
The path isn't hard-coded in ScummVM. If I understand the code correctly, it goes something like this:

Windows 95, 98 and Me uses the Windows directory, as produced by the GetWindowsDirectory() function.

Windows NT 4.0 uses whatever the USERPROFILE environment variable contains.

Windows 2000, and anything else more recent than that, uses whatever the APPDIR environment variable contains.

In Windows XP, I can open a command prompt and type echo %APPDIR%. I assume that's where ScummVM would put the scummvm.ini file, if I had ScummVM installed on that computer.

User avatar
JohnnyWalker2001
Posts: 405
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 1:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by JohnnyWalker2001 »

But of course Vista doesn't allow files to be written to in the Program Files or Windows directory, it just tells the program it has done it, and stores the files elsewhere. I wonder if that's what happened here?

Also, "echo %APPDIR%" literally outputs %APPDIR% in Vista...?

Post Reply