No MIDI in Maniac Mansion

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
Florob
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 3:36 pm

No MIDI in Maniac Mansion

Post by Florob »

Hello everybody,
I tried to play Maniac Mansion with MIDI through Alsa, which (if I was not imagining things) used to work.
But right now scummvm seems to insists on using some kind of emulation (adlib?).
Does anyone know how to fix this?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3334
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Re: No MIDI in Maniac Mansion

Post by eriktorbjorn »

Florob wrote:Hello everybody,
I tried to play Maniac Mansion with MIDI through Alsa, which (if I was not imagining things) used to work.
But right now scummvm seems to insists on using some kind of emulation (adlib?).
Maniac Mansion only has PC Speaker music, which can be played through the "PC Speaker" or "PCjr" sound drivers. (You have to remember that the game was released back in the late eighties.)

User avatar
Kaminari
Posts: 274
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 2:25 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Kaminari »

The first Lucas game with MIDI (Roland MT-32) support was Loom in 1990. As Erik noted, all prior games used AdLib, PCjr or the speaker.

Post Reply