Gobliins 2 Sound

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
User avatar
exofreeze
Banned
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:06 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Gobliins 2 Sound

Post by exofreeze »

When I run Gobliins 2 I immediately get really bad static, and it seems to stay throughout the game. Is this a universal problem with the game engine still under development, or just an issue with my configuration?
User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3383
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Re: Gobliins 2 Sound

Post by eriktorbjorn »

exofreeze wrote:When I run Gobliins 2 I immediately get really bad static, and it seems to stay throughout the game. Is this a universal problem with the game engine still under development, or just an issue with my configuration?
The only thing I can think of that would play constantly (at least in the PC CD version) is the CD audio track. But I don't know why that would be played as static.
User avatar
exofreeze
Banned
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:06 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by exofreeze »

So there aren't immediate sound problems with the Gobliins 2 game? I'll try recopying the files from my CD and see what happens.
Collector
Posts: 549
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 6:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Collector »

I, too was having a problem with static. When played from the CD, the audio was fine, but no graphics. When I ripped the audio track to my hard drive with Audiograbber the graphics would show, but the audio was garbled with a lot of static, no matter if uncompressed wave file or compressed. I finally re-ripped with ISO Buster and got a good rip.
Cirion81
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 5:02 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Cirion81 »

Hi,

I've heard before of the static effect - this happens when using a big-endian soundfile on a little-endian pc (or vice versa). If you google for it I am sure you will find multiple converters for your ripped wav files.
If you want to know what big-endian / little endian means, wikipedia is your friend ;-)
Reckless
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 1:12 am

Post by Reckless »

Collector wrote:I, too was having a problem with static. When played from the CD, the audio was fine, but no graphics. When I ripped the audio track to my hard drive with Audiograbber the graphics would show, but the audio was garbled with a lot of static, no matter if uncompressed wave file or compressed. I finally re-ripped with ISO Buster and got a good rip.
The graphics not showing when playing with CD was fixed under bug 1619330
Collector
Posts: 549
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 6:58 pm
Contact:

Post by Collector »

I didn't report it in the bug tracker since it was already entered. Besides, I prefer to use ripped audio tracks. This has always solved sync issues for me that seem so common with CD audio games on XP, even using ScummVM. It also eliminates the need to drag out the CD every time.
User avatar
exofreeze
Banned
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:06 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by exofreeze »

Sure enough - it was just a bad audio rip from audiograbber. I never even though to just listen to the sound file to see if the static was present there or not... doh! Thanks guys!
Post Reply