Newbie guide to ScummVM

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
User avatar
bobdevis
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:52 am

Post by bobdevis » Sat Apr 04, 2009 11:14 pm

Look on http://www.scummvm.org/downloads.php
There is a download there that is called "Windows Installer"
Its the topmost download in a long list of links for all the other platforms, and it is the only download that is linked in boldface.
Just get that one, it's an .exe file that you can doubleclick on to make it run and install ScummVM.

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 981
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat » Sun Apr 05, 2009 1:32 am

In that case you downloaded the wrong file.
Try to get the exe file right at the top.

Jester23
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:49 am

Post by Jester23 » Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:56 am

Hi, I am a newbie and have a question.

I have the original Simon the Sorcerer PC game and wondered whether scummVM is compatible with Windows Vista because I haven't found anything to say it is? If it is, which file should I be downloading?

Many thanks in advance!

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 981
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:11 am

It is, you should use the regular win 32 bit binary at the top of the downloads page.

Jester23
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:49 am

Post by Jester23 » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:12 am

Thank you! I will give it a go..

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 981
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:16 am

np

Jester23
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:49 am

Post by Jester23 » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:50 am

It worked, sound and everything.. except my mouse cursor dosn't go in the screen. It works in the Windows bar at the top of the box, but not in the game play screen. Is there any reason why this is happening?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Sat Apr 25, 2009 11:55 am

Jester23 wrote:It worked, sound and everything.. except my mouse cursor dosn't go in the screen. It works in the Windows bar at the top of the box, but not in the game play screen. Is there any reason why this is happening?
Once the introduction has ended (or you've pressed Esc enough times to end it), there should be a mouse cursor. If there isn't, then I have no idea.

tedfufu
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:42 pm

Post by tedfufu » Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:54 pm

My problem is pretty simple but also frustrating. I'm on a mac and I can't get the Scumm program to recognize anything on my computer. Despite the information being there it tells me that it can't find the specified game in the directory. So much work just to play The DIg.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:23 am

tedfufu wrote:Despite the information being there it tells me that it can't find the specified game in the directory. So much work just to play The DIg.
Which files are in the folder you're pointing ScummVM to when you try to add the game?

pallybear
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:12 am

Will Vista work?

Post by pallybear » Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:36 am

Ok, so I play day of the tentacle via scummvm and I love it (I have XP)! I want to share the greatness that is DoTT with a girl at work, but she has Vista and can't seem to get the games to work. My question is: does scummvm work for Vista? Will copying the files to a file work as someone stated?

User avatar
bobdevis
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:52 am

Re: Will Vista work?

Post by bobdevis » Wed Jul 08, 2009 1:42 am

pallybear wrote:Ok, so I play day of the tentacle via scummvm and I love it (I have XP)! I want to share the greatness that is DoTT with a girl at work, but she has Vista and can't seem to get the games to work. My question is: does scummvm work for Vista? Will copying the files to a file work as someone stated?
ScummVM works perfectly on Vista.
What she needs to do is exactly what you did.
- Download and install ScummVM
- Obtain the DOTT data files needed
- Put them all in a directory somewhere
- Point ScummVM to that directory with the 'add game' option
- Play DOTT

I have to warn you that is explicitly forbidden to talk here about how to get the DOTT files to her. Thou Shalt Not Discuss Copyright Infringement On This Forum.
It is however perfectly alright to ask further questions on how to get ScummVM working on Vista. If she still has trouble, ask here what the trouble is EXACTLY. Else we can't help you.

pallybear
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:12 am

Re: Will Vista work?

Post by pallybear » Thu Jul 16, 2009 3:22 am

bobdevis wrote:
pallybear wrote:Ok, so I play day of the tentacle via scummvm and I love it (I have XP)! I want to share the greatness that is DoTT with a girl at work, but she has Vista and can't seem to get the games to work. My question is: does scummvm work for Vista? Will copying the files to a file work as someone stated?
ScummVM works perfectly on Vista.
What she needs to do is exactly what you did.
- Download and install ScummVM
- Obtain the DOTT data files needed
- Put them all in a directory somewhere
- Point ScummVM to that directory with the 'add game' option
- Play DOTT

I have to warn you that is explicitly forbidden to talk here about how to get the DOTT files to her. Thou Shalt Not Discuss Copyright Infringement On This Forum.
It is however perfectly alright to ask further questions on how to get ScummVM working on Vista. If she still has trouble, ask here what the trouble is EXACTLY. Else we can't help you.
Ok, I paid her a visit, and tried to get to work by extracting the necessary files, but it didn't show up in scummvm. I could barely get DOTT to work by pointing scummvm to the CD drive. Is there anything else I can try to get Curse or monkey island to work?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3303
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Re: Will Vista work?

Post by eriktorbjorn » Thu Jul 16, 2009 5:30 am

pallybear wrote: Ok, I paid her a visit, and tried to get to work by extracting the necessary files, but it didn't show up in scummvm. I could barely get DOTT to work by pointing scummvm to the CD drive. Is there anything else I can try to get Curse or monkey island to work?
Just to rule out the simple explanation, did you point ScummVM to the folder with the data files, or did you just point it at "C"? You can navigate your way down the file hierarchy by double-clicking on the name of a folder.

pallybear
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:12 am

Re: Will Vista work?

Post by pallybear » Thu Jul 16, 2009 6:18 pm

eriktorbjorn wrote:
pallybear wrote: Ok, I paid her a visit, and tried to get to work by extracting the necessary files, but it didn't show up in scummvm. I could barely get DOTT to work by pointing scummvm to the CD drive. Is there anything else I can try to get Curse or monkey island to work?
Just to rule out the simple explanation, did you point ScummVM to the folder with the data files, or did you just point it at "C"? You can navigate your way down the file hierarchy by double-clicking on the name of a folder.
Yes, I made a file on the desk top and named it 'curse' with all the necessary files in it. Then, I opened Scummvm and went /C/ >> Datafiles >> Desktop
but there was nothing there. I even uninstalled/reinstalled Scummvm, and I put the file in My Documents. Then I went /C/ >> My Documents, and it still wasn't there. Any ideas?

Post Reply