Ultima VIII bug reports

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

bliznik

Ultima VIII bug reports

Post by bliznik »

Hey all, so I just started playing Ultima VIII, and I've encountered a few bugs, so I wanted to report them here so that the right people would see.

(1) The ini file.
- The scummvm.ini file has some Pentagram settings that can be tweaked, but there's nothing in the ScummVM documentation that refers to that.
- The ini settings that can be tweaked can be found here (http://pentagram.sourceforge.net/docs.php) (should these tweakable settings be listed in documentation in the wiki somewhere?)
-̶ ̶S̶o̶m̶e̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶s̶e̶ ̶d̶o̶n̶'̶t̶ ̶w̶o̶r̶k̶,̶ ̶l̶i̶k̶e̶ ̶s̶e̶t̶t̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶"̶w̶i̶d̶t̶h̶"̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶"̶h̶e̶i̶g̶h̶t̶"̶ ̶(̶o̶r̶ ̶"̶s̶c̶a̶l̶e̶x̶"̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶"̶s̶c̶a̶l̶e̶y̶"̶)̶
- ^ Oh, this works in the new "daily build" I'll use the "daily build" from now on to test things
(̶2̶)̶ ̶o̶n̶e̶-̶w̶a̶y̶ ̶w̶a̶l̶l̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶T̶e̶n̶e̶b̶r̶a̶e̶ ̶-̶ ̶J̶u̶s̶t̶ ̶N̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶c̶a̶s̶t̶l̶e̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶a̶ ̶g̶u̶a̶r̶d̶h̶o̶u̶s̶e̶.̶ ̶T̶h̶e̶ ̶o̶n̶l̶y̶ ̶w̶a̶y̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶g̶e̶t̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶j̶u̶m̶p̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶2̶n̶d̶ ̶s̶t̶o̶r̶y̶ ̶a̶n̶d̶ ̶e̶n̶t̶e̶r̶ ̶a̶ ̶d̶o̶o̶r̶ ̶
-̶ ̶I̶n̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶R̶ ̶t̶o̶w̶e̶r̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶g̶u̶a̶r̶d̶h̶o̶u̶s̶e̶,̶ ̶o̶n̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶b̶o̶t̶t̶o̶m̶ ̶f̶l̶o̶o̶r̶,̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶r̶i̶g̶h̶t̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶s̶t̶a̶i̶r̶s̶,̶ ̶i̶s̶ ̶a̶ ̶w̶a̶l̶l̶.̶ ̶Y̶o̶u̶ ̶c̶a̶n̶ ̶w̶a̶l̶k̶ ̶N̶ ̶t̶h̶r̶o̶u̶g̶h̶ ̶t̶h̶a̶t̶ ̶w̶a̶l̶l̶,̶ ̶b̶u̶t̶ ̶c̶a̶n̶'̶t̶ ̶w̶a̶l̶k̶ ̶S̶ ̶t̶h̶r̶o̶u̶g̶h̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶w̶a̶l̶l̶.̶ ̶(̶I̶ ̶t̶e̶s̶t̶e̶d̶ ̶t̶h̶i̶s̶ ̶a̶g̶a̶i̶n̶s̶t̶ ̶e̶x̶e̶c̶u̶t̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶t̶h̶i̶s̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶D̶o̶s̶B̶O̶X̶.̶.̶.̶i̶t̶'̶s̶ ̶a̶n̶ ̶i̶s̶s̶u̶e̶ ̶I̶ ̶o̶n̶l̶y̶ ̶s̶e̶e̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶S̶c̶u̶m̶m̶V̶M̶ ̶v̶e̶r̶s̶i̶o̶n̶)̶
- ^ Also fixed in the new "daily build" so long as I start a new savegame
(̶3̶)̶ ̶S̶a̶v̶e̶g̶a̶m̶e̶ ̶i̶n̶c̶o̶n̶s̶i̶s̶t̶e̶n̶t̶ ̶w̶i̶t̶h̶ ̶j̶o̶u̶r̶n̶a̶l̶ ̶