Question about the NES Maniac Mansion beta

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
User avatar
eisnerguy1
Got a warning
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:06 am

Question about the NES Maniac Mansion beta

Post by eisnerguy1 »

So, I just finished getting the PRGs for all versions of NES Maniac Mansion & then extracting the LFL files. Everything is working great on the latest development snapshot. One issue is that I couldn't get the extract_mm_nes tool to extract the FLFs from the "Maniac Mansion (USA) (Beta)" PRG file. It just spits out this error message:
"Fatal Error : ROM contents not recognized (DE0C29A9)"

Is the PRG from the NES beta not supported?
MapleSyrup
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 11:39 pm

Re: Question about the NES Maniac Mansion beta

Post by MapleSyrup »

eisnerguy1 wrote: Fri Aug 28, 2020 5:11 amIs the PRG from the NES beta not supported?
The beta is not supported because it was never officially released.
User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 2055
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about the NES Maniac Mansion beta

Post by sev »

Simply because that would mean that if you play the game, you obtained it illegally. AFAIK, only one copy of the game exists in the world.

We do not want to have C&D letter from Nintendo just because some user wants to see a pixel art statue.


Eugene
User avatar
eisnerguy1
Got a warning
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:06 am

Re: Question about the NES Maniac Mansion beta

Post by eisnerguy1 »

MapleSyrup wrote: Sat Aug 29, 2020 3:54 am
eisnerguy1 wrote: Fri Aug 28, 2020 5:11 amIs the PRG from the NES beta not supported?
The beta is not supported because it was never officially released.
sev wrote: Sun Aug 30, 2020 3:04 pm Simply because that would mean that if you play the game, you obtained it illegally. AFAIK, only one copy of the game exists in the world.

We do not want to have C&D letter from Nintendo just because some user wants to see a pixel art statue.


Eugene
Ok, yeah that makes total sense. I did have another slightly related question: when playing the games in ScummVM, it skips over the game logo screen, LucasFilm Games logo and it goes straight to "Twenty Years Ago Today ...". Is there any way to enable those first 2 logo screens? Or, is this a result of extracting the PRG from the rom?
MapleSyrup
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 11:39 pm

Re: Question about the NES Maniac Mansion beta

Post by MapleSyrup »

eisnerguy1 wrote: Sun Aug 30, 2020 11:07 pmIs there any way to enable those first 2 logo screens? Or, is this a result of extracting the PRG from the rom?
According to the TODO list on the wiki, those images aren't yet enabled in ScummVM.
User avatar
eisnerguy1
Got a warning
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:06 am

Re: Question about the NES Maniac Mansion beta

Post by eisnerguy1 »

MapleSyrup wrote: Wed Sep 02, 2020 9:47 pm
eisnerguy1 wrote: Sun Aug 30, 2020 11:07 pmIs there any way to enable those first 2 logo screens? Or, is this a result of extracting the PRG from the rom?
According to the TODO list on the wiki, those images aren't yet enabled in ScummVM.
Thanks for clearing that up. I really need to start looking at the wiki more often.
Post Reply