Zork Nemesis

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

User avatar
legluondunet
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 9:24 am

Zork Nemesis

Post by legluondunet »

Hello,

Il Just read on internet that Scummvm supports now Zork games series. I have Zork Nemesis (french 3 cd version). I will try to play my game with scummvm but could you tell me how to install it? How to change cd during gaming? Is it possible to scale the game resolution? This game works very well with dosbox but the game resolution can not be scaled and stay in 640x480 whatever the resolution you specified. Last question: the graphism will be better than with dosbox?

Thank you for your answers.

LGDN.
Last edited by legluondunet on Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Robot_Maker20
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 1:23 pm

Post by Robot_Maker20 »

You need to put all of the files in the following list in one directory. It can be on a DVD if you really want, or you can copy the whole lot into a directory on /usr/share/scummvm, or wherever your particular OS's equivalent is. I'm not sure if scummvm even supports disc swapping, due to the various mounting/unmounting behaviours of different supported OS's and the fact that this is one of the very few scummvm games to even use multiple discs. Anyway, especially since AV compression tools using modern codecs are now available to make most ScummVM games even smaller than they originally were at release, I think most people now just copy all their ScummVM games onto their hard drives and leave the original discs safely packed away.

http://wiki.scummvm.org/index.php/Dataf ... dden_Lands

You also need to put the nemesis.zix file in that directory, which is actually missing from the datafile list. Once you've got all the datafiles in one place, add the game via the scummvm launcher.

Scaling and zooming isn't currently supported by ScummVM's implementation of the Zvision engine, so it'll only run in the original resolution and aspect ratio at present. I and at least one other person on here would like to see higher resolutions and widescreen supported, but that's at the discretion of the programmers, and it'd probably be a lot of work for them.

You probably won't see much improvement in graphics over the original engine for the time being (although there may be some already and I've just not noticed; it's been a decade or more since I played the games in their original form); the only noticeable difference is that there are a pattern of visible stepped edges in the panoramic view as artefacts of the image warping algorithm, which form a sort of cruciform curve about the centre of the screen that I'm pretty sure wasn't in the original engine, and the full screen movies can't yet be played in line-skip mode. Oh, and Qsound isn't implemented yet either. The chief advantages are that you'll almost certainly see far, far lower CPU usage than using DosBox, and have native support on more platforms.

By the way, it's currently debugging season on Zvision games, and I'm sure your contributions will be welcomed - it's even been known for bugs that were present in original released games to finally be fixed in ScummVM.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

Robot_Maker20 wrote:You also need to put the nemesis.zix file in that directory, which is actually missing from the datafile list.
nemesis.zix is created when using the installer. The files in the game CDs contain the file medium.zix instead (inside the znemscr directory).

123eliao
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:53 am

Zork Nemesis

Post by 123eliao »

Hello, I possess Zork Nemesis in Italian , I can not get it started , when I add the game , SCUMM launcher does not find it . Could someone kindly give me some help . Thanks in advance :)
P.S.
It can be blamed for the fact that the game is in Italian?
(Sorry for my English)

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3329
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Re: Zork Nemesis

Post by eriktorbjorn »

123eliao wrote:Hello, I possess Zork Nemesis in Italian , I can not get it started , when I add the game , SCUMM launcher does not find it .
There's a bug report with information about the Italian version, so I've added a detection entry using that. But of course, I cannot test it myself. Could you see if that works for you with the next daily build?

123eliao
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:53 am

Re: Zork Nemesis

Post by 123eliao »

eriktorbjorn wrote:
123eliao wrote:Hello, I possess Zork Nemesis in Italian , I can not get it started , when I add the game , SCUMM launcher does not find it .
There's a bug report with information about the Italian version, so I've added a detection entry using that. But of course, I cannot test it myself. Could you see if that works for you with the next daily build?
Sorry I did not understand what I should do . Could you explain it step by step? Thanks a lot!

digitall
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1040
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:40 pm

Post by digitall »

123eliao:

eriktobjorn has applied a fix which should enable detection of your Italian version of Zork Nemesis.

This will be included in the next nightly development build of ScummVM. This can be obtained from here:
http://www.scummvm.org/downloads/#daily
or
http://buildbot.scummvm.org/builds.html

Download this for your platform i.e. Windows, run it and try to detect your game. If this detects, try running this.

Give feedback on the bug if this works or not, as eriktorbjorn can not test this as he does not have a copy of your game variant.

123eliao
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:53 am

Post by 123eliao »

digitall wrote:123eliao:

eriktobjorn has applied a fix which should enable detection of your Italian version of Zork Nemesis.

This will be included in the next nightly development build of ScummVM. This can be obtained from here:
http://www.scummvm.org/downloads/#daily
or
http://buildbot.scummvm.org/builds.html

Download this for your platform i.e. Windows, run it and try to detect your game. If this detects, try running this.

Give feedback on the bug if this works or not, as eriktorbjorn can not test this as he does not have a copy of your game variant.
Now Scumm find the game , however , as soon as I press play , the SCUMM's window crashes and closes.

digitall
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1040
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:40 pm

Post by digitall »

Run the new version of ScummVM from a command line window (cmd) and you should see warning and error messages indicating what happened.

I would suspect there are other differences in your version which we will need to account for. You should attach a full file listing to the bug with file MD5sums. The output of a tool such as http://md5summer.org/ would be optimal.

User avatar
legluondunet
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2015 9:24 am

Post by legluondunet »

Thank you for your answers. I compiled the latest version of ScummVM git, installed the game as you described me and it works great. I have not seen bug for the moment. The graphics are similar to those of DOSBox, except that left / right movements are more fluid with scummvm.
I do not know if this game uses the Qsound technology, but I can listen audio background music and sound effects in the game.

I think it's time for me to play this game again :)
Last edited by legluondunet on Mon Feb 02, 2015 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

123eliao
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:53 am

Post by 123eliao »

digitall wrote:Run the new version of ScummVM from a command line window (cmd) and you should see warning and error messages indicating what happened.

I would suspect there are other differences in your version which we will need to account for. You should attach a full file listing to the bug with file MD5sums. The output of a tool such as http://md5summer.org/ would be optimal.
But when I run the ScummVM and click play on zorK both windows crashes inmediately.
I'm italian and I dont speak English very well, sorry!

digitall
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1040
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:40 pm

Post by digitall »

No, I meant "Run ScummVM from a Windows Command Prompt" as per:
http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/6254/error3o.png

Thus the Windows Command Prompt will remain after ScummVM exits / crashes. Post the error messages from there to a message here.

As for your English, if you are having that much trouble, I'd suggest talking to one of our Italian developers such as Hkz on IRC.

123eliao
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:53 am

Post by 123eliao »

digitall wrote:No, I meant "Run ScummVM from a Windows Command Prompt" as per:
http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/6254/error3o.png

Thus the Windows Command Prompt will remain after ScummVM exits / crashes. Post the error messages from there to a message here.

As for your English, if you are having that much trouble, I'd suggest talking to one of our Italian developers such as Hkz on IRC.
Image
Thank you very much for your help!

digitall
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1040
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:40 pm

Post by digitall »

123eliao: We should continue any debugging on this on the bug artifact: https://sourceforge.net/p/scummvm/bugs/6786/

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3329
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn »

The latest comment on the bug report digitall mentioned indicates that the Italian version works, and has a list of files. Maybe you could take a look at that and see if you got the layout of the files and folders right?

Post Reply