Aspect ratio issues (with Monkey Island games)

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

fadetonoir

Aspect ratio issues (with Monkey Island games)

Post by fadetonoir »

I've been using SCUMMVM for a few years now, and recently reinstalled it to play through the Monkey Island games again, only to notice that I've got some aspect ratio issues. I'm not sure if these issues existed before and I've just noticed them, or they're new, either due to a new SCUMMVM version or the fact that I've got a new PC since I last used the program.

Anyway, I've got a 26" 16:10 monitor, set to a resolution of 1920x1200. I started playing Monkey Island 2 fullscreen and noticed right away that some of the picture was missing, as bits of the subtitles were off the edge of the screen. I hit alt-enter to switch to windowed and could see everything. I've also tried installing the first Monkey Island game, as well as Curse of Monkey Island, and have the same problem with each game, with about the same about of picture missing.

I've tried using the 'Aspect ratio correction' option in both global and game-specific options, as well as playing with some other settings, but no combination has worked.

I tried to take a screenshot to show how much was missing but, strangely enough, print screen captured a complete 640x480 image - even the bits that were off the edges of my screen. So I saved the screenshot anyway and did my best to manually grey out the area that I can't see -

Is there a way I can fix this? Any help would be much appreciated.
Graxer

Post by Graxer »

It's possible that your computer monitor is the one cutting part of the image off when it switches to the resolution used by the game. Does your monitor have buttons on it which can be used to bring up a menu which can stretch and shrink the image on the screen? If so that may be worth trying out!
fadetonoir

Post by fadetonoir »