Indy III stopped working.

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
User avatar
CyberSkull
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:43 am

Indy III stopped working.

Post by CyberSkull » Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:35 am

A while ago ScummVM suddenly stopped working with my copy of Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade: The Graphic Adventure (Macintosh edition) and I haven't been able to get it working again. I tried deleting the ScummVM config for the game and reloading it, but I get an error saying ScummVM can't read the game directory. I've triple checked the permissions and scrubbed any ACLs that may be on the files, but I keep getting "ScummVM couldn't open the specified directory!" error message. There is also nothing useful in the console messages either.

I'm currently the current ScummVM on Mac OS X 10.5.8 PPC.

Does anyone have any ideas what's wrong?

Aside: Crossposted here.

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Re: Indy III stopped working.

Post by clone2727 » Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:47 pm

CyberSkull wrote:A while ago ScummVM suddenly stopped working with my copy of Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade: The Graphic Adventure (Macintosh edition) and I haven't been able to get it working again. I tried deleting the ScummVM config for the game and reloading it, but I get an error saying ScummVM can't read the game directory. I've triple checked the permissions and scrubbed any ACLs that may be on the files, but I keep getting "ScummVM couldn't open the specified directory!" error message. There is also nothing useful in the console messages either.
Works fine here. Can you list the directory structure you're using and the md5 of 00.LFL?
CyberSkull wrote:Aside: Crossposted here.
Not really sure why you would also post there on a site not related to ScummVM.

Mau1wurf1977
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:26 am
Location: Perth, WA, Australia

Post by Mau1wurf1977 » Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:18 pm

Hmm maybe a corrupt file?

Copy the "Last Crusade" files into the directory again and see if the problem went away.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3317
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:33 pm

Mau1wurf1977 wrote:Hmm maybe a corrupt file?
The "ScummVM couldn't open the specified directory!" error message seems to happen long before that could become an issue, though. The only place where I can find it is when adding a game, if ScummVM completely fails to get a list of files from the selected directory. It hasn't even started to look at what the files are yet.

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3317
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Mon Nov 14, 2011 8:57 pm

To elaborate a tiny bit, one way to get this error message is if you try to detect a game in a folder you can't access, but of course CyberSkull said he already triple-checked that.

I guess another possibility would be a bug in the file access code in ScummVM. (This is one of the parts that is platform specific, so if there are bugs in the Mac-specific parts of it, I wouldn't know.)

User avatar
CyberSkull
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:43 am

Post by CyberSkull » Tue Dec 20, 2011 1:09 am

I just discovered the option to "mass add" games. I pointed it at the folder holding the Indy III folder and it added the game and it seems to run just fine now.

I suspect this behavior is because the mass add option is running different code than the regular add command.

User avatar
Raziel
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 1123
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 8:27 am
Location: a dying planet

Post by Raziel » Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:28 am

CyberSkull wrote:I just discovered the option to "mass add" games. I pointed it at the folder holding the Indy III folder and it added the game and it seems to run just fine now.

I suspect this behavior is because the mass add option is running different code than the regular add command.
Nope, it rather means the files ScummVM needs to detect the game is in a subfolder you weren't in the first time.
The only thing "mass add" does differently is to recursively go through all subdirs from the dir you pointed it in.

Post Reply