Laura Bow 2 - The Dagger of Amon-Ra Not Working

Ask for help with ScummVM problems

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
sabrespectre
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:40 am

Laura Bow 2 - The Dagger of Amon-Ra Not Working

Post by sabrespectre » Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:45 am

Laura Bow 2 - The Dagger of Amon-Ra is not working anymore.
The game stuck on sierra logo and don't go further.
Scuumvm 1.2.1 is fine, only in 1.3.1 have this problem.
Can someone confirm this?

KuroShiro
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:42 am
Location: Miyazaki, Japan

Post by KuroShiro » Sun Jul 17, 2011 3:15 am

It works fine for me with v1.3.1.

Does the console window output any error messages when the game stops working? You might also try re-copying all the data files for the game. It would also probably make helping you easier if you mentioned your OS and what version of the game you're using.

sabrespectre
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:40 am

Post by sabrespectre » Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:52 am

Laura Bow version 1.1. (cd/dos/english)
The game not freezes, just stops on sierra logo (logo still shining).
Nothing show on console.
Like i said, in scumm 1.2.1 works perfect.

My System: Win7 64 Bits - 8G Ram - Radeon HD 6870 - AMD PhenonII x4 965.
Using Scummvm x32 and x64

Tried copying files but nothing.
Is there a debug or something like to test?

sabrespectre
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:40 am

Post by sabrespectre » Sun Jul 17, 2011 7:25 am

Nevermind .... i re-ripped my cd and works again .... thanks in advance for the quick reply :)

sabrespectre
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:40 am

Post by sabrespectre » Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:02 am

Now i have another game with a real problem (i think)
Is with Freddy Pharkas - Frontier Pharmacist. Do you have it?
When i load with scummVM 1.2.1, console shows:
WARNING: matched and patched CD: score early disposal on script 0 offset 495!

Dipite this, the game runs fine.
On 1.3.x this message doesn't show, theres no sound and after Sierra logo, game freeze at title screen.

Any ideias?
(I re-ripped the game and the same problem ...)

User avatar
bobdevis
Posts: 563
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 10:52 am

Post by bobdevis » Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:46 am

The best way to get the attention of the developer who could fix this, is to make a Source Forge account and submit a bug report here:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_i ... tid=418820

sabrespectre
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:40 am

Post by sabrespectre » Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:02 am

Yep .... quick response from group.
The problem is from Audio Driver. I have to need to force AdLib driver to work, default doesn't find any. But at least i found a solution. Thanks again!!!

Post Reply