Tutorial: Getting Monkey Island 3 to run properly

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Nintendo Wii port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

billeke
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 8:47 pm

Post by billeke » Sun Aug 10, 2008 8:44 am

fingolfin wrote:
billeke wrote: EDIT: Also I reread the post and I'm confused: the map on the sd: should it be named resource or resources? ('cause it's resource on the cd's)
The same names as on the CD should be used, i.e. in your case "RESOURCE" if that is what the CD says.
okay thanks

got the filesize down by compressing the movies too. I managed to get it on my sd card, and to play it on my Wii! It's really a great experience to play adventure games like this!

I included the bat file that I used: method is the same just copy compress_scumm_san.exe to the resource (together with bun and lame) and also put all the san files in the original folder

and adjust your bat that it looks like this:

Code: Select all

compress_scumm_bun.exe MUSDISK1.BUN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_bun.exe MUSDISK2.BUN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_bun.exe VOXDISK1.BUN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_bun.exe VOXDISK2.BUN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe CURSERNG.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe FG010GP.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe BBSAN.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe FINALE.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe KIS030.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe LAVARIDE.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe LIFTCRSE.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe MORESLAW.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe NEWBOOTS.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe OPENING.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe SB010.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe SB020.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe SINKSHP.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe WRECKSAN.SAN "original" "compressed"
compress_scumm_san.exe ZAP010.SAN "original" "compressed"


@echo Completed
PAUSE
hope that helps , and thx to everyone that answered my questions!

superfighter
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 5:34 pm
Location: England

Post by superfighter » Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:04 pm

can somebody please help me!!!

ive moved all ofthe Bun files in to the resources and then in to the origional folder
lame.EXE and compress scumm bun are in the resources
opened the batch file to compress the bun files
all it keeps saying is cannnot open VOXDISK1.BUN
MUSDISK1.BUN etc
cant understand to my knowlege ive done everything that was mentioned previously
this is the first time ive used scumm tools so please dont use too much jargon!

billeke
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 8:47 pm

Post by billeke » Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:55 pm

maybe they are corrupted? try to copy them again from the cd

User avatar
Red_Breast
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:33 pm
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.

Post by Red_Breast » Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:05 pm

no post
Last edited by Red_Breast on Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

superfighter
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 5:34 pm
Location: England

Post by superfighter » Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:30 pm

your message was a lil hard to understand
what actually are you trying to do? and on what?

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Tue Oct 07, 2008 7:23 am

Red_Breast wrote:I've gathered everything to do this but as it is I've yet to even use the Twilight Hack. I just haven't got to it yet.
Anyway I noticed this thread and thought I'd give it a try.
But something's not working right. I've tripple-checked everything is in it's correct folder.
The command line is telling me:
Assertion failed: tag "LB83", file compress_scumm_bun.cpp, line 1202.
Any ideas?
I have a full-size (2GB) SD card. I don't mind having to swap stuff around a lot. What will my experience be like without compressing?
Apart from PC scumm I have and use another platform version (with 733Mhz Celeron) and I don't have any problems with CoMI on both platforms.
Can't think of any other clues. My CoMI folder in scumm is 445MB. It has the 3 .LA files and resource folder which has 4 .bun, 5 .nut, 15 .san and 1 .tab file in it. That is it's state before I start the tutorial.
Thanks.
Are you perhaps trying to compress a file that is already compressed?

User avatar
Red_Breast
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:33 pm
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.

Post by Red_Breast » Tue Oct 07, 2008 9:18 pm

no post
Last edited by Red_Breast on Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

superfighter
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 5:34 pm
Location: England

Post by superfighter » Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:46 pm

so if youve yet to try the twilight hack have you actually got Scumm working on your wii yet?

User avatar
Red_Breast
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:33 pm
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.

Post by Red_Breast » Thu Oct 09, 2008 1:35 am

no post
Last edited by Red_Breast on Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Javi-Wan Kenobi
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:52 pm

Post by Javi-Wan Kenobi » Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:36 am

You can use the Twilight Hack with an unmoded/chipped Wii. Only thing you need is an original (since your Wii is unchipped) copy of Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess. But there's no need to buy the game if you don't want it. You can borrow it from a friend or rent it in a game store that allows game renting, just as it was a DVD film.

User avatar
Red_Breast
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:33 pm
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.

Post by Red_Breast » Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:06 am

no post
Last edited by Red_Breast on Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
chrisis
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 4:06 pm
Location: Innsbruck, Austria

Post by chrisis » Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:59 am

You can easily do both at the same time. Just back up your Zelda-savegame to SD, use the Twilight Hack to install the Homebrew Channel, and when you're ready, delete the Twilight Hack savegame and recopy your original Zelda-Save to the Wii. Now you're good to go to get your ScummVM-fix everytime you want to, and, when you have enough of it, just restart your Wii, jump into Zelda and play the game (which is quiet good, actually).
Best of both worlds, easy.

User avatar
Red_Breast
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:33 pm
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.

Post by Red_Breast » Fri Oct 10, 2008 2:30 pm

no post
Last edited by Red_Breast on Mon Apr 26, 2010 1:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Cydra
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:33 am

Post by Cydra » Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:40 am

Ok, how about just playing this game on the regular PC? I can play the first half of the game without any difficulty, but after I've gotten everything I need at Plunder Island and I'm sailing out to open sea, the game freezes up and all I get is, and I quote:

ERROR: (52:29:0xD44): BundleMgr::open() Can't open bundle file: musdisk2.bun!

I tried compressing the bundle files as it said at the beginning of this thread, but that didn't seem to work. Can anyone give me any suggestions of what I'm doing wrong?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3316
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn » Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:14 am

Cydra wrote: ERROR: (52:29:0xD44): BundleMgr::open() Can't open bundle file: musdisk2.bun!
That does raise one obvious question, of course: Did you copy the files from the resource folder of the second game CD? That should contain not only musdisk2.bun (the music for the second half of the game) but also the voices and cutscenes for the second half of the game.

There is some overlap between the files in the resource folders of the first and second CD, but if a file is present in both they should be identical.

(I'm assuming you've copied the data files from both CDs to your hard disk. ScummVM doesn't support CD swapping, or at the very least it's not tested.)
Cydra wrote: I tried compressing the bundle files as it said at the beginning of this thread,
Compressing the files is a completely optional step, so it doesn't make any difference.

Post Reply