My only bug/problem

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Nintendo DS port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
User avatar
iPwnzorz
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: Hampshire, England

My only bug/problem

Post by iPwnzorz »

So I read the SVMDS site on Drunken Coders and converted the CD Audio for Monkey Island 1 correctly. But when I play it, the music is very... skippy. It's not crunchy like high quality sound, it just stammers a lot, it's rather unpleasant.

Should I try a higher or lower sample rate? High Quality Audio is turned OFF.

User avatar
iPwnzorz
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: Hampshire, England

Post by iPwnzorz »

Well I got somewhere. Used a higher sample rate and turned on jitter correction. It's a bit better... A BIT.

another world
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:05 am

Post by another world »

i actually used cool edit to convert the audio in a save as...

spying one of the tracks now...

88kbps, 4 bit audio, mono, 22khz sample rate, format: ima adpcm.

cheers,
-aw

Bowen747x
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 7:13 pm
Location: Ny

Post by Bowen747x »

try turning "High quality audio" off/on
Last edited by Bowen747x on Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
iPwnzorz
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: Hampshire, England

Post by iPwnzorz »

Tried yours, Bowen.

aw, that sounds interesting, I'll have a look see...

User avatar
iPwnzorz
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: Hampshire, England

Post by iPwnzorz »

Figured out my problem.

See, this computer I'm typing on has a broken CD drive. It simply won't read ANY CDs.

The computer upstairs is 11 years old and with a crappy soundcard, ripping music on there causes the skippy music.

So - Unless someone sneakily passes under the table the compressed music or if I find a CD Drive to borrow for 10 mins I have no music. And no Monkey Island since it's useless with no score.

Predicament.

Oh and PLEASE ignore my passing under the table comment and DON'T do it since it's illegal

Is it possible to take the .mp3s I already have and compress + convert them?

manias
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 4:09 pm

Post by manias »

iPwnzorz wrote:Figured out my problem.

See, this computer I'm typing on has a broken CD drive. It simply won't read ANY CDs.

The computer upstairs is 11 years old and with a crappy soundcard, ripping music on there causes the skippy music.

So - Unless someone sneakily passes under the table the compressed music or if I find a CD Drive to borrow for 10 mins I have no music. And no Monkey Island since it's useless with no score.

Predicament.

Oh and PLEASE ignore my passing under the table comment and DON'T do it since it's illegal

Is it possible to take the .mp3s I already have and compress + convert them?
btw for ripping cd audio you do not need a soundcard
and you can UNcompress the mp3's then REcompress them in the readme specified format.. use google to find the required apps!

agentq
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 4:29 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by agentq »

Yes you can recompress them. In fact, cdex can do this in a single step process. Just select 'recompress audio files' IIRC.

User avatar
iPwnzorz
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: Hampshire, England

Post by iPwnzorz »

manias wrote: btw for ripping cd audio you do not need a soundcard
and you can UNcompress the mp3's then REcompress them in the readme specified format.. use google to find the required apps!
You do however need one that isn't wired incorrectly or something somewhere and keeps interfering with the CD drive, the hissing coming from the speakers everytime a CD moves is evident of that.

Agentq: Aha! Thank you!

User avatar
iPwnzorz
Posts: 301
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:55 pm
Location: Hampshire, England

Post by iPwnzorz »

Success! Now I just need my sister to give up my R4.

Post Reply