Roland MT-32 emulation on 3DS port

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's Nintendo DS port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
wojnarabc
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 7:36 am

Roland MT-32 emulation on 3DS port

Post by wojnarabc »

Is it possible to get mt-32 music working on 3DS port ?

I was able to get it working on Windows port through copying appropriate mt-32 .rom files into scummvm directory and setting mt-32 emulation as default sound option but this routine is impossible to set up on 3DS port. I don't see the option of mt-32 eumulation there so whatever i try i end up with Adlib emulation.

I'm currently on scummvm version 2.2.0 on both 3DS and Windows end.
User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 2080
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Roland MT-32 emulation on 3DS port

Post by sev »

No, not possible. The emulation alone is estimated to require about 1GHz of raw CPU power.
wojnarabc
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2021 7:36 am

Re: Roland MT-32 emulation on 3DS port

Post by wojnarabc »

Thanks sev,
What about Timidity ? It would be more General Midi emulation but improvement over Adlib for sure.
Is it possible to set it up on 3DS port ? I can choose it as a sound device but it's always giving me "cannot initialize music device" message during game startup.
Post Reply