PS2: ScummVM 0.8.0 RC3

Subforum for discussion and help with ScummVM's PlayStation 2 port

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Locked
User avatar
lavosspawn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Dortmund, Germany

Post by lavosspawn »

I've just checked it with The Dig. The intro video gets out of sync when it's compressed. So compress_san is definately impossible.
Hitnrun
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 8:15 pm

Post by Hitnrun »

On the previous version I have, the PS2 port had a "virtual keyboard" accessed with the Lx and Rx buttons if I remember right. It was quite good to use.

Is this not on the current version (I didn't tested it yet)? Was it removed? I think it was a great help to play on the ps2 controls...
User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 2059
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev »

Lavos' port has nothing common with that unofficial one. He did that from the scratch. It was easier for him as a hardcore ScummVM hacker ;).


Eugene
Carnivol
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 9:44 am
Location: Confirmed

Post by Carnivol »

About video performance, would it be possible to evt. add support/possibilities for replacing the original video sequences with PSS/MPEG2 encoded videos? (The default movie format the PS2 uses) to evt. increase performance (guess it wont help on size though)
User avatar
Shin-NiL
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 2:19 am
Location: São Paulo - Brazil

Post by Shin-NiL »

lavosspawn wrote: And the NTSC field in the SYSTEM.CNF file shouldn't be used by anything. ScummVM autodetects if the console is Pal or Ntsc.
I'm using a NTSC system and SCUMMVM runs without color :cry:
User avatar
lavosspawn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Dortmund, Germany

Post by lavosspawn »

@Shin-NiL:
Oops, sorry. I don't have a NTSC system, so I didn't notice that this is broken.
Anyways, now it should be fixed.

@Carnivol:
That'd be completely useless. The original SAN files work perfectly fine. And PSS files are probably considerably larger than the SANs.


I've posted a new release, Release Candidate 2 and edited my first message in this thread to update the link and reflect the changes.

Changes since 0.8.0 RC1
=======================
  • Zlib was added (even though using it is not recommended)
  • ScummVM looks for a ScummVM.ini in the CD/DVD's root directory before falling
    back to the one on the Memory Card
  • Disc swapping was fixed
  • PAL/NTSC detection was fixed
  • Autosaves are now written every 15 minutes instead of every 5 minutes
mac_es
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 9:37 am

Post by mac_es »

@lavosspawn:
Thank you very much. As I understand there is no much that we can do to play COMI in PS2. no?

@kaysow:
To create a DVD for PS2, you only need to keep some files and to ensure to leave some sectors in certain positions. There are some utilities to create iso, but there are not freeware nor shareware so I will no explain how to make it here, sorry. But, if you google it you will find it. The structure of the DVD is the same of the CD
User avatar
Shin-NiL
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 2:19 am
Location: São Paulo - Brazil

Post by Shin-NiL »

Oops, sorry. I don't have a NTSC system, so I didn't notice that this is broken.
Anyways, now it should be fixed.
Thanks lavosspawn! I'll burn another disc right now!

You're doing a great work :D
MacBoehm
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by MacBoehm »

Well I tried the RC2 and I come only as far as the screen with the ones and zeros.
It won't do anything more.
User avatar
lavosspawn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Dortmund, Germany

Post by lavosspawn »

@MacBoehm:
That's quite strange.
Can you provide some more details?
What kind of PS2 do you use, US, european, japanese?
Which Modchip do you use?
Do you have a memory card plugged in when starting scummvm? Is it a Sony or 3rd party one?
Do you boot ScummVM directly or do you use additional programs like the Action Replay?
Did you replace any of the files from the .zip or did you use straight?
Did you add the USBD.IRX? If you did, do you have any USB devices connected?
Did you use cd-tool for creating the cd? Do you even run ScummVM from cd? or did you create a dvd, with some other tool?
Any kind of info could be helpful.

oh, and does the animation stop or does it keep on running?
Is the RC2 the first release your tried or did RC1 work?
MacBoehm
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by MacBoehm »

lavosspawn wrote:@MacBoehm:
That's quite strange.
Can you provide some more details?
What kind of PS2 do you use, US, european, japanese?
Which Modchip do you use?
Do you have a memory card plugged in when starting scummvm? Is it a Sony or 3rd party one?
Do you boot ScummVM directly or do you use additional programs like the Action Replay?
Did you replace any of the files from the .zip or did you use straight?
Did you add the USBD.IRX? If you did, do you have any USB devices connected?
Did you use cd-tool for creating the cd? Do you even run ScummVM from cd? or did you create a dvd, with some other tool?
Any kind of info could be helpful.

oh, and does the animation stop or does it keep on running?
Is the RC2 the first release your tried or did RC1 work?

I use a European console and I don't know which chip is inside anymore.

I did boot directly and my Memory Card is 3rd party but never made problems.

I did use the same files and added the USBD.IRX file. I think a mouse was connected but it didn't seem to work anyway in RC1.

I burned it on a DVD+RW. By the way in RC1 on DVD+RW I couldn't access any games. RC1 on CD-R worked fine.

The animation was running forever.

Hope that info helps!
User avatar
lavosspawn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Dortmund, Germany

Post by lavosspawn »

The problem with accessing game data on DVDs is a completely different matter and it should be fixed in the new cdvd.irx of RC2.

But I can't really think of a reason why RC1 worked for you and RC2 doesn't...
Did you use the same USBD file for both?
There're too many possible causes for the error.. It'd be nice if you could make a cd (or dvd, whatever you prefer) of RC2 without adding the USBD and try to start it with and without memory card to see if it gives different results.
Sorry about it, but there're too many possible reasons :\

actually, if you can't get it to run at all with the DVD+RW, it'd be nice if you could also test it with a CD-R.
Carnivol
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 9:44 am
Location: Confirmed

Post by Carnivol »

What PS2 model do you have?
If it's 50000 or newer, then ignore this (I guess)

But if it has a lower system number than SCPH-50 00X, then your system probably doesn't like RW media in general.

So either go with CD-R or use standard R media for DVDs instead of RW.
fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1452
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin »

Seeing that this thread is becoming big, and considering that the PS2 port has a custom backend, too, wouldn't it be more appropriate if we created a separate port forum for it?

Just say the word, lavosspwan, and either Ender or me will do it :-)
User avatar
lavosspawn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 9:22 pm
Location: Dortmund, Germany

Post by lavosspawn »

Thanks. :)
Locked