SCI Pre-Release Testing

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post by clone2727 »

Graxer wrote:OS: Ubuntu 10.04
I've assumed x86 32-bit, please note the architecture in the future.

User avatar
Graxer
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 2:24 pm
Location: Scotland

Post by Graxer »

clone2727 wrote:
Graxer wrote:OS: Ubuntu 10.04
I've assumed x86 32-bit, please note the architecture in the future.
Ah, yes. 32-Bit

KuroShiro
Posts: 456
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:42 am
Location: Miyazaki, Japan

Post by KuroShiro »

Since you seem to have missed it Mixed up Mother Goose (Floppy/Dos/English)(SCI1.1) is fully completable as of r52613 on W7 x64.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

KuroShiro wrote:Since you seem to have missed it Mixed up Mother Goose (Floppy/Dos/English)(SCI1.1) is fully completable as of r52613 on W7 x64.
Did you have any issues with kCantBeHere? I.e. any errors/lockups like in this bug report?
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=d ... tid=418820

KuroShiro
Posts: 456
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:42 am
Location: Miyazaki, Japan

Post by KuroShiro »

md5 wrote:
KuroShiro wrote:Since you seem to have missed it Mixed up Mother Goose (Floppy/Dos/English)(SCI1.1) is fully completable as of r52613 on W7 x64.
Did you have any issues with kCantBeHere? I.e. any errors/lockups like in this bug report?
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=d ... tid=418820
None at all, and I never did. That bug seems to be exclusive to the CD version (if it is still there at all). The only bug left in the game that I could find is 3051136, which is frankly a pretty minor one.

Terming Boss
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:26 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Space Quest 4 - VGA CD

Post by Terming Boss »

Game: Space Quest 4
Version: VGA/CD/DOS/ENGLISH 1.0
OS: Windows 7 x64
ScummVM: 1.2.0svn52636 (Sep 8 2010 22:59:21)

I tried this game now.
But there is a bug at the beginning of the game.
On the first screen I select the walk cursor to make Roger walk to the North.
When the new screen appears, Roger immediately turns around and walks South to the screen he just came from.

Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

And I was wondering which files ScummVM needs to run the SCI-games? Are only the Resource.xxx files required?

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Re: Space Quest 4 - VGA CD

Post by md5 »

Terming Boss wrote:Game: Space Quest 4
Version: VGA/CD/DOS/ENGLISH 1.0
OS: Windows 7 x64
ScummVM: 1.2.0svn52636 (Sep 8 2010 22:59:21)

I tried this game now.
But there is a bug at the beginning of the game.
On the first screen I select the walk cursor to make Roger walk to the North.
When the new screen appears, Roger immediately turns around and walks South to the screen he just came from.

Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

And I was wondering which files ScummVM needs to run the SCI-games? Are only the Resource.xxx files required?
That's a known problem with that scene, though you can just walk to it by going around (e.g. east, north, west).

You pretty much need all the game files for SCI games, apart from the executables. I'll try to make a list in the wiki tomorrow

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post by clone2727 »

The SCI testing is now over. Thanks to all who helped out! :)

Wikbi
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 5:15 pm

Post by Wikbi »

Game: Freddy Pharkas: Frontier Pharmacist
Version: CD/DOS/English/1.000
OS: Win32 (XP SP3)
ScummVM: 1.2.0pre52976 (Oct 2 2010 19:36:18)

Completable (New bug found though).

Problem: The testers seemed to have missed this. When you use the whiskey glass on the prescription, it's supposed to magnify the text and make it readable. None of the previous versions I've tested have this function implemented yet either. The console notes the following -

"WARNING: kSetCursor: unsupported magnifier!"

Thanks.

KuroShiro
Posts: 456
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:42 am
Location: Miyazaki, Japan

Post by KuroShiro »

Wikbi wrote:
Problem: The testers seemed to have missed this. When you use the whiskey glass on the prescription, it's supposed to magnify the text and make it readable. None of the previous versions I've tested have this function implemented yet either. The console notes the following -

"WARNING: kSetCursor: unsupported magnifier!"

Thanks.
This is a known bug. And since testing for sci is technically over, it's probably best if you just post any bugs you find directly to the tracker rather than here.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

KuroShiro wrote:
Wikbi wrote:
Problem: The testers seemed to have missed this. When you use the whiskey glass on the prescription, it's supposed to magnify the text and make it readable. None of the previous versions I've tested have this function implemented yet either. The console notes the following -

"WARNING: kSetCursor: unsupported magnifier!"

Thanks.
This is a known bug. And since testing for sci is technically over, it's probably best if you just post any bugs you find directly to the tracker rather than here.
This has been implemented now

PhiloHippus
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 6:45 am
Location: Portugal

Post by PhiloHippus »

Noticed bug 3034973 was closed a moment ago.

I believe the bug should be reopened or the comments re-enabled because I just tested the implementation of the magnifier cursor with Laura Bow 2 and it isn't working very well.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

PhiloHippus wrote:Noticed bug 3034973 was closed a moment ago.

I believe the bug should be reopened or the comments re-enabled because I just tested the implementation of the magnifier cursor with Laura Bow 2 and it isn't working very well.
Please open a separate bug and attach a savegame

Post Reply