Heroes of Might and Magic II

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Touchen

Heroes of Might and Magic II

Post by Touchen »

Do you have plans about this great game. There is nowdays a free engine available. It would be great to play this with phone!
ezekiel000

Post by ezekiel000 »

I think it's outside the scope of ScummVM but as I have little knowledge of the series I'm not 100% sure.
nabla

Post by nabla »

It is outside of the scope of scummvm as it is a round based strategy game (great nonetheless). (Unless I'm mistaken as 2 is the very only game in the series I haven't played, but 1, 3, 4 and 5 were quite similar ;) )
Nikioko

Post by Nikioko »

Well, if even Discworld Noir, Grim Fandango and The Longest Journey are out of scope, you can bet that non-adventure games definitely are.
Charlii

Post by Charlii »

That is because they are incompatible with ScummVM, since it is a 2D-environment.
Morden

Post by Morden »

There is a working Windows version, but I'm not sure whether or not it will run on Vista. I'm running Win XP on my desktop and it was working fine last time I played it. I installed the version that came bundled with special edition of HoM&M V.

Besides, I'm sure you can run the DOS version using DOSBox just fine.
KuroShiro

Post by KuroShiro »

Morden wrote:There is a working Windows version, but I'm not sure whether or not it will run on Vista. I'm running Win XP on my desktop and it was working fine last time I played it. I installed the version that came bundled with special edition of HoM&M V.

Besides, I'm sure you can run the DOS version using DOSBox just fine.
Well, you can run most games supported by ScummVM in Dosbox just fine. That's not really the point, no?

It's true that HoMM2 is definitely not in the scope of ScummVM though.
Morden

Post by Morden »

KuroShiro wrote:Well, you can run most games supported by ScummVM in Dosbox just fine. That's not really the point, no?