Status of SCI games

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
filipetolhuizen
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:18 am

Post by filipetolhuizen »

I see a lot of work being done for SCI. Keep it up!

User avatar
Red_Breast
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:33 pm
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.

Post by Red_Breast »

MapleSyrup wrote:I don't get any music in any of the SCI games I've tried both with my mingw32 build of SVN and with the mingw32 from buildbot. I use the Amiga versions. The console says Warning: [SFX] Sound disabled!

I used to be able to hear the music when I tried SCI in ScummVM back in February.
From what I understand about developing/porting what you say shouldn't come as a surprise should it? Code appears, code disappears, code is replaced etc etc.

User avatar
MeddlingMonk
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:06 pm

Post by MeddlingMonk »

That's right. I'm no coder, but I've followed ScummVM, Exult, and other projects long enough to know that progress is sometimes halting. Sometimes what people thought they had worked out turns out not to have been worked out all that well originally, fixing one thing might break another, and the process seems very Sisyphean (look it up) sometimes. So I say don't worry. It'll get there in the end.

User avatar
Red_Breast
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:33 pm
Location: The Bar Of Gold, Upper Swandam Lane.

Post by Red_Breast »

MeddlingMonk wrote:Sisyphean (look it up)
Hey I've learnt a new word.

arablizzard2413
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:39 am

Post by arablizzard2413 »

Ok this is extremely cool, in just a couple weeks KQ6 went from getting stuck at a few places to getting all the way through the game with 231/231 points.

And that was from start to finish with the new gui.

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat »

Nice to hear something about how this is progressing :)

arablizzard2413
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:39 am

Post by arablizzard2413 »

Does anyone know if the midi sequencer is enabled? I'm only getting adlib.

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post by clone2727 »

arablizzard2413 wrote:Does anyone know if the midi sequencer is enabled? I'm only getting adlib.
The SCI MIDI stuff isn't working in ScummVM yet, only AdLib.

filipetolhuizen
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 1:18 am

Post by filipetolhuizen »

Larry 3 is still crashing for me, I reinstalled it over and over and it keeps crashing.

User avatar
Raziel
ScummVM Porter
Posts: 1168
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 8:27 am
Location: a dying planet

Post by Raziel »

Sorry, wrong thread...

User avatar
Mataku
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:28 pm

Post by Mataku »

arablizzard2413 wrote:Ok this is extremely cool, in just a couple weeks KQ6 went from getting stuck at a few places to getting all the way through the game with 231/231 points.

And that was from start to finish with the new gui.

ORLY? that's odd, because when i try to run the windows version, it closes scummvm right before you see the sierra logo. Also, judging by the mouse cursor, it seems to run the dos version even if you choose the windows version on detection.

KuroShiro
Posts: 456
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 7:42 am
Location: Miyazaki, Japan

Post by KuroShiro »

Mataku wrote:
arablizzard2413 wrote:Ok this is extremely cool, in just a couple weeks KQ6 went from getting stuck at a few places to getting all the way through the game with 231/231 points.

And that was from start to finish with the new gui.

ORLY? that's odd, because when i try to run the windows version, it closes scummvm right before you see the sierra logo. Also, judging by the mouse cursor, it seems to run the dos version even if you choose the windows version on detection.
I'm pretty sure the Windows CD and the DOS versions of KQ6 are actually based on different versions of SCI, and hence while the DOS version may be completable, the Windows version is probably a ways off.

User avatar
clone2727
Retired
Posts: 1592
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:23 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post by clone2727 »

KuroShiro wrote:I'm pretty sure the Windows CD and the DOS versions of KQ6 are actually based on different versions of SCI, and hence while the DOS version may be completable, the Windows version is probably a ways off.
They're actually the same version. If you manually change the detection entry, the Windows version should work (I think). It's been a while since I tested it. I'm not sure if the AVI stuff was changed to new GUI yet, though.

arablizzard2413
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:39 am

Post by arablizzard2413 »

Mataku wrote:ORLY? that's odd, because when i try to run the windows version, it closes scummvm right before you see the sierra logo. Also, judging by the mouse cursor, it seems to run the dos version even if you choose the windows version on detection.
That's probably because the new gui doesn't play avi files yet, I played all the way through the dos version. I played through on r44950, so some of the graphics were still messed up from the sticky cels.

On a sidenote, why is captain saladin facing the wrong way (when he talks to you, his cel is facing away) when you try and enter the castle the first time. I was happy to see it fixed finally and now its back again.

fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1466
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin »

arablizzard2413 wrote:On a sidenote, why is captain saladin facing the wrong way (when he talks to you, his cel is facing away) when you try and enter the castle the first time. I was happy to see it fixed finally and now its back again.
It's unfinished code, heavy under development. As was explained before in this thread, it's perfectly normal for things to get re-broken and then fixed differently again later on, etc.

Post Reply