MT-32 emulator development: Good news!

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

User avatar
noize
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:08 pm

MT-32 emulator development: Good news!

Post by noize »

A couple of days ago, both Canadacow and KingGuppy posted that they have gotten back on their MUNT project under active development together with MoK.

KingGuppy: "The results should be available in the near future."

Good news for all of us MT-32 and CM-32L owners!

http://queststudios.com/smf/index.php/topic,2873.0.html

http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.p ... c&start=20
User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Posts: 1083
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:03 am
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Post by MusicallyInspired »

Don't you mean 'good news for non-MT-32 and CM-32L owners?'
Kirben
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:15 pm
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Post by Kirben »

MusicallyInspired wrote:Don't you mean 'good news for non-MT-32 and CM-32L owners?'
No, since you still need to own the actual ROMs.
fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1452
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin »

Actually, the legal status of the ROMs is not quite clear. There are some reasons to believe that it's copyright has expired. See http://www.artworxinn.com/alex/history.htm
Last edited by fingolfin on Sat Mar 21, 2009 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
SuperDre
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: helmond.nl
Contact:

Post by SuperDre »

Hmmm.. that's funny, because I even helped someone out (provided all the commands for the MT32) who made an MT32 emulator (Mega-Em) for the GravisUltrasound long looooong ago.. (Still have the card laying around somewhere), I'm pretty sure he didn't ask permission, and he didn't use the actual ROM.
The emulator was created by a user, but later even shipped with the gravis ultrasound itself..
fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1452
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin »

What you describe sounds like a simple tool which converts the MT-32 variant of the MIDI standard to General MIDI. That's easy and well-known, and not the kind of emulation we are talking about here, which does require the original ROMs to work properly.
User avatar
MusicallyInspired
Posts: 1083
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:03 am
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Contact:

Post by MusicallyInspired »

Kirben wrote:
MusicallyInspired wrote:Don't you mean 'good news for non-MT-32 and CM-32L owners?'
No, since you still need to own the actual ROMs.
My point is, why use an emulator when you have the real thing?
rented mule
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:27 pm

Post by rented mule »

MusicallyInspired wrote:
Kirben wrote:
MusicallyInspired wrote:Don't you mean 'good news for non-MT-32 and CM-32L owners?'
No, since you still need to own the actual ROMs.
My point is, why use an emulator when you have the real thing?
So you can enjoy it on a laptop away from the MT-32 you own? So you don't have to find a way to hook your MT-32 up to an iPhone/Android phone? So you can keep your MT-32 in pristine condition and tucked away safely?

Stay tuned for more reasons.
User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

rented mule wrote:
MusicallyInspired wrote:
Kirben wrote: No, since you still need to own the actual ROMs.
My point is, why use an emulator when you have the real thing?
So you can enjoy it on a laptop away from the MT-32 you own? So you don't have to find a way to hook your MT-32 up to an iPhone/Android phone? So you can keep your MT-32 in pristine condition and tucked away safely?

Stay tuned for more reasons.
MT-32 emulation requires a lot of CPU, so it's unlikely that a mobile phone will handle such a task. However, not everyone owns a MT-32, so munt is a fantastic solution!
rented mule
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:27 pm

Post by rented mule »

md5 wrote: MT-32 emulation requires a lot of CPU, so it's unlikely that a mobile phone will handle such a task. However, not everyone owns a MT-32, so munt is a fantastic solution!
Eh? iPhone's are running on ARM chips clocked at around 600MHz and multicore CPUs for smart phones are right around the corner. That's plenty for MT-32 emulation.
fingolfin
Retired
Posts: 1452
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 4:12 pm

Post by fingolfin »

Cool, so they improved the performance? It used to barely work on a 1.2Ghz Pentium IV :-).
User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

rented mule wrote:Eh? iPhone's are running on ARM chips clocked at around 600MHz and multicore CPUs for smart phones are right around the corner. That's plenty for MT-32 emulation.
Well, the version of Munt included in ScummVM constantly eats up 50% of my PC's CPU. In the past, the sound in DOSBox builds with Munt included would be choppy for this reason, e.g. check this thread:
http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=19363

The version of Munt included in ScummVM is also quite choppy on MacOS, though I believe that fingolfin fixed that with double buffering.

So... judging by the current version of munt build in ScummVM, the iPhone will most probably NOT handle MT-32 emulation. But, if munt's performance is improved, then it might be likely. With the current situation, it isn't.
rented mule
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 5:27 pm

Post by rented mule »

md5 wrote: So... judging by the current version of munt build in ScummVM, the iPhone will most probably NOT handle MT-32 emulation. But, if munt's performance is improved, then it might be likely. With the current situation, it isn't.
Perhaps...but software and hardware evolve. Even if the current implementation is inadequate for current mobile phones, it'll run just fine on phones manufactured two years from now.

Again, that's only if nothing changes on the software end.
User avatar
SuperDre
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 5:06 pm
Location: helmond.nl
Contact:

Post by SuperDre »

fingolfin wrote:Cool, so they improved the performance? It used to barely work on a 1.2Ghz Pentium IV :-).
hehe.. but an ARM proc isn't the same as a Pentium IV... LOL.. But then again, who want a dumb iPhone anyway... LOL.
User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2250
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 »

SuperDre wrote:
fingolfin wrote:Cool, so they improved the performance? It used to barely work on a 1.2Ghz Pentium IV :-).
hehe.. but an ARM proc isn't the same as a Pentium IV... LOL.. But then again, who want a dumb iPhone anyway... LOL.
Of course it isn't. But it's not as powerful as a desktop PC :)
Post Reply