Residual/Grime/GRIM FANDANGO

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

Post Reply
boe6ie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:17 pm

Post by boe6ie »

crap... do you or anybody else, know what else i can do?

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3334
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn »

boe6ie wrote:crap... do you or anybody else, know what else i can do?
I don't run Windows myself, so I don't know anything about what could be the problem. If I were you, I'd search the Grim Fandango Network for answers, but maybe you already did that.

boe6ie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 8:17 pm

Post by boe6ie »

no, i didnt know the site yet
ty, i will look if i can find any help there ^^
very annoying the whole thing...

aejacks
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:16 pm

Keyboard controls?

Post by aejacks »

My brother gave me this game for Christmas, along with Grim X to help it run on my Mac (he's the programmer, not me - so I'm completely lost trying to read through this forum...). Anyway, the game plays through the whole intro part up to when (I assume) I'm supposed to be able to take control of the character, and then it freezes and I can't do anything. I'm not sure if I'm using the wrong keyboard controls or it's just a bug in the game, or what. Any thoughts/suggestions would be much appreciated!

User avatar
LogicDeLuxe
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:54 pm

Post by LogicDeLuxe »

I have one problem: My GRIMDATA directory on disc 1 looks like this:

Code: Select all

23.10.1998  13&#58;23       <DIR>          .
23.10.1998  13&#58;13       <DIR>          ..
15.10.1998  02&#58;23               81.408 CHORE.DLL
17.10.1998  15&#58;13          695.304.192 CREDITS.LAB
17.10.1998  17&#58;25           29.163.069 DATA000.LAB
15.10.1998  09&#58;13          666.118.144 DATA001.LAB
15.10.1998  09&#58;14          549.976.064 DATA003.LAB
15.10.1998  13&#58;01           30.042.112 DATA005.LAB
16.10.1998  20&#58;15              398.592 GRIM.TAB
18.10.1998  09&#58;06            1.010.176 GRIMFANDANGO.EXE
14.10.1998  05&#58;42              100.352 HMIFXFP.DLL
14.10.1998  05&#58;42               66.560 HMIFXLIB.DLL
14.10.1998  05&#58;42                   40 HMILIBS.INI
15.10.1998  06&#58;56              141.824 IMUSE.DLL
14.10.1998  05&#58;42                  848 IMUSE.PSL
13.10.1998  13&#58;24                  608 LOCAL.LAB
15.10.1998  06&#58;57              182.784 LUA.DLL
15.10.1998  09&#58;33            7.121.597 MOVIE00.LAB
13.10.1998  13&#58;23          156.018.688 MOVIE01.LAB
13.10.1998  13&#58;24          482.465.792 MOVIE03.LAB
14.10.1998  05&#58;42               18.432 NULLMUSE.DLL
13.10.1998  13&#58;26          393.209.856 VOX0000.LAB
18.10.1998  13&#58;09          388.753.408 VOX0001.LAB
13.10.1998  13&#58;38          321.923.072 VOX0003.LAB
12.10.1998  22&#58;11          275.771.392 YEAR0MUS.LAB
12.10.1998  22&#58;12          268.775.424 YEAR1MUS.LAB
12.10.1998  22&#58;14          207.411.200 YEAR3MUS.LAB
              25 Datei&#40;en&#41;  4.474.055.634 Bytes
               2 Verzeichnis&#40;se&#41;,               0 Bytes frei
Something seems to be seriously wrong with the file sizes, and since their ends lie beyond the end of the CD, they won't be even copied with >4GB hard disk available.
Is this some lame attempt to prevent hacking, similar to those simple exor'ed data files in SCUMM V5 games?
So how did you copy them then? I'd really like to give Residual a try.
It's the German version, btw.

User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 2058
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev »

LogicDeLuxe wrote:Something seems to be seriously wrong with the file sizes, and since their ends lie beyond the end of the CD,
This is pretty known trick used in some releases of Grim Fandango to prevent CD duplication. Just copy the files and it will copy them with correct sizes.


Eugene

User avatar
LogicDeLuxe
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 9:54 pm

Post by LogicDeLuxe »

sev wrote:This is pretty known trick used in some releases of Grim Fandango to prevent CD duplication.
It doesn't prevent CD duplication at all. It merely prevents copying individual files. And I thought, LEC doesn't even use any copy protected discs.
Just copy the files and it will copy them with correct sizes.
It won't. It tries to read all the way beyond the end of the CD and abords.

I got them off manually with IsoBuster, though. I sorted the files by LBA and assumed the end of file where the next file begins. Fortunately, we don't have to deal with thousands of files like some games have.

Residual seems to run fine, fast and as incomplete it is. Now waiting for the year the game is fully supported. :)

User avatar
eriktorbjorn
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 3334
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:39 am

Post by eriktorbjorn »

LogicDeLuxe wrote: Residual seems to run fine, fast and as incomplete it is. Now waiting for the year the game is fully supported. :)
That seems to be pretty hardware-dependent, though. On my machine, the OpenGL renderer is next to useless. The software renderer runs acceptably, albeit with some glitches. Hopefully it can be speeded up a bit, though, or maybe someone could write a more light-weight renderer to bring down the system requirements to somewhere closer to the original ones.

It would be pretty cool if Grim Fandango would eventually work on hand-held devices.

Muyfa666
Posts: 176
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 11:46 pm

Post by Muyfa666 »

If the goal is to get Grim running, I found that http://quick.mixnmojo.com/grim-fandango-launcher works perfectly under Windows XP. No CD-lag, no bugs (that I've found) full 3D support and audio works fine.

Cyphox
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Cyphox »

Muyfa666 wrote:If the goal is to get Grim running, I found that http://quick.mixnmojo.com/grim-fandango-launcher works perfectly under Windows XP. No CD-lag, no bugs (that I've found) full 3D support and audio works fine.
Not for me, in fullscreen mode the game crashes right after the intro sequence...

in window mode the sound stutters/stops after a few minutes.....

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat »

disable multithread processing in Grim.exe and turn of any antialiasing(GF does not like newer nVidia cards) or run in software rendering mode and you should be fine.

Cyphox
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Cyphox »

Jonatan wrote:disable multithread processing in Grim.exe and turn of any antialiasing(GF does not like newer nVidia cards) or run in software rendering mode and you should be fine.
the game works already in windowed mode, but the sound stops completely after a short time. thats my main problem.

if the game is running in windowed mode i can switch to hardware-accelerated (fullscreen) mode too, but not without annoying grafik errors:

http://img367.imageshack.us/my.php?imag ... nntqw3.jpg

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat »

yes, as I said, the sound stuttering is a result of Grim Fandangos inability to handle multithread processing. set it to run with only one processor and it will most probably run fine.

the artifacts are due to Grim Fandango using outdated antialiasing tecniques. turn off antialiasing on you gfx card.

Cyphox
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Cyphox »

Jonatan wrote:yes, as I said, the sound stuttering is a result of Grim Fandangos inability to handle multithread processing. set it to run with only one processor and it will most probably run fine.

the artifacts are due to Grim Fandango using outdated antialiasing tecniques. turn off antialiasing on you gfx card.
okaaaay, sound seems to work now.

still no success with the graphic errors in fullscreen, i tried several configurations in driver options, sometimes manny is completely invisible :shock:

gnaah, at least its working in windowed mode...

thx for help :)

User avatar
Longcat
Posts: 986
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 3:15 pm

Post by Longcat »

np.

I don't know what kind of hardware you're using, but if it IS indeed a not too new nVidia card you could try this to get rid of the antialiasing issue;
http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.p ... tialiasing

Post Reply