The Legend of Kyrandia: Testing

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

User avatar
LordHoto
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:58 pm
Location: Germany

Post by LordHoto » Mon Jan 09, 2006 8:54 pm

about text skipping our current try to do it is all we can do I guess, also it would be nice to see our STUB: ... output then you do that thing you described in the temple. (you should delete all *adlib* stub messages though :))

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Mon Jan 09, 2006 10:48 pm

Another glitch: When I'm in the labyrinth in the volcanic river and I use the scroll, Brandon's head disappears, the animation where the lava is turned into ice appears and then Brandon's head reappears again

pi
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 7:11 pm

Post by pi » Mon Jan 09, 2006 10:48 pm

It's really awesome how fast development has progressed over the last weeks. Congratulations LH, you're doing a fine job :)

pi~

User avatar
Vinterstum
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 6:59 am

Post by Vinterstum » Tue Jan 10, 2006 2:51 am

Some/most of the animation glitches should be resolved now. Hopefully :).

We had a fastmode you could use to fast forward through cutscenes and such, but it might've gotten lost in the changes at some point. Might not be a bad idea to use something similar to skip past dialog.

cappuchok
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:54 am

Post by cappuchok » Tue Jan 10, 2006 7:57 am

The game seems to run very slowly - not just Brandon's walk but the entire game including all animation and dialogue. I've not had this problem with any other game in ScummVM on my machine (1.5GHz P4) so I'm guessing it's a Kyra-specific problem?

On a side note, Mike (one of the original developers) mentioned once that there were in fact several (English) versions of Kyrandia 1 (CD version IIRC) with slightly different dialogue between versions. I don't see a reference to versioning (other than languages) in the game checksum routine, but perhaps it'd be nice to have specific version information displayed for games (not just Kyrandia) that had elements of the actual game (and not just the engine) changed between versions.

I hope that if you get the source code you might be able to implement a function to skip lines of dialogue (not just in cutscenes) via the "." button much like in the LucasArts games. It's a function sorely missed in the original interpreter. The "double click to exit room" would be a nice bonus feature also. :)

clem
Posts: 2185
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem » Tue Jan 10, 2006 9:27 am

skipping cutscenes could be implemented in the following way I think:

if you hit ESC, a variable is set, every Cmd proc which plays sound, displays text, does a delay or waits for a confirmation mouse click just checks this variable and returns when it's set, animation functions run at full speed -
and when the user gains control again, variable is reset

clem

joachimeberhard
ScummVM Team Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 12:25 pm
Location: Austria

Post by joachimeberhard » Tue Jan 10, 2006 11:10 am

I would like to suggest a little refinement regarding the game names dispayed at the launcher.


At the moment you detect "Legend of Kyrandia (CD, English)" and so on.

But when I took a look on the others game detection, it's hard to see a common way.

Example:

Inherit the Earth (De DOS CD Version) (German/DOS)

Loom (English (US)/DOS) <- Here you can't tell which version I have, though you could using md5 detection.


That's why I don't give examples how it would be better because first of all, you should come to one common way ScummVM names detected games....

Just a small suggestion, anyway, since it's not game critical. :wink:
Thanks for the good work, team!

cappuchok
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 7:54 am

Post by cappuchok » Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:38 pm

joachimeberhard wrote:I would like to suggest a little refinement regarding the game names dispayed at the launcher.


At the moment you detect "Legend of Kyrandia (CD, English)" and so on.

But when I took a look on the others game detection, it's hard to see a common way.

Example:

Inherit the Earth (De DOS CD Version) (German/DOS)

Loom (English (US)/DOS) <- Here you can't tell which version I have, though you could using md5 detection.


That's why I don't give examples how it would be better because first of all, you should come to one common way ScummVM names detected games....

Just a small suggestion, anyway, since it's not game critical. :wink:
Thanks for the good work, team!
I'll second this. Perhaps something like:
<Name of game> (<platform> <gfxmode where needed> <media type> v <version>, <language>)
would work?
Examples:
Legend of Kyrandia, The (DOS VGA CD v 1.03, US English)
Secret of Monkey Island, The (Amiga OCS Floppy v 1.0, German)
Loom (DOS EGA Floppy v 1.0, US English)
Discworld 2 (Win SVGA v 1.0, US English)

...in order to give a very exact description of the exact version and characteristics of the game in question.

joachimeberhard
ScummVM Team Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 12:25 pm
Location: Austria

Post by joachimeberhard » Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:40 pm

cappuchok wrote: I'll second this. Perhaps something like:
<Name of game> (<platform> <gfxmode where needed> <media type> v <version>, <language>)
would work?
Examples:
Legend of Kyrandia, The (DOS VGA CD v 1.03, US English)
Secret of Monkey Island, The (Amiga OCS Floppy v 1.0, German)
Loom (DOS EGA Floppy v 1.0, US English)
Discworld 2 (Win SVGA v 1.0, US English)

...in order to give a very exact description of the exact version and characteristics of the game in question.
Well, it doesn't have to be that exact for starters...

Also I'd strongly suggest to go the same way as the sorting of the md5 list.

Eg Loom (EGA/DOS/English)
The Secret of Monkey Island (CD/DOS/English)

This would make over-redundant infos like with ITE and too little info like with LA games unified, and would include all info that's necessary without over-description.

User avatar
sev
ScummVM Lead
Posts: 2008
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:06 pm
Contact:

Post by sev » Tue Jan 10, 2006 3:12 pm

The problem with this is that in

Code: Select all

  Loom &#40;English &#40;US&#41;/DOS&#41;
  Inherit the Earth &#40;De DOS CD Version&#41; &#40;German/DOS&#41;
last parenthesis are generated by ScummVM OSystem, which gets this information from game settings, namely platform and language. For some games there is no way to set that up properly, particularly, scumm engine has unified target names. For ITE I was able to determine exact version just because I calculate md5 for all game files. In scumm engine there are lots of those "Any platform", which will not give you any meaningful platform name in autogenerated description.

What I personally do with my games is add them manually, and give directory name in form of game-platform-language, like ite-cd-de, or itecd-de. Then I add more descriptive name to the launcher, however I myself use launcher pretty seldom, just firing './scummvm freddi4-ru' ;)

All that means that to eachieve this feature request we will have to collect significantly more MD5s, particularly for every game data file.


Eugene

joachimeberhard
ScummVM Team Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 12:25 pm
Location: Austria

Post by joachimeberhard » Tue Jan 10, 2006 3:48 pm

But you could add just a little info like EGA/VGA or Floppy/CD ?

After all, you can tell that by the first canonical md5.

User avatar
md5
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 2261
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 9:31 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Post by md5 » Tue Jan 10, 2006 4:53 pm

I've noticed that there is text skipping in the code (by left clicking or pessing ".") but it only works for Brandon's lines, not the things that other characters say

User avatar
Vinterstum
ScummVM Developer
Posts: 585
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 6:59 am

Post by Vinterstum » Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:30 pm

md5 wrote:I've noticed that there is text skipping in the code (by left clicking or pessing ".") but it only works for Brandon's lines, not the things that other characters say
Yeah I added that for Brandons chatting when I first implemented it, but it's a bit more tricky for other chats. Something like what's been discussed earlier (a 'fast forward' until the user has control again) is probably the way forward.

User avatar
noize
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:08 pm

Post by noize » Tue Jan 10, 2006 11:51 pm

Will the FM-Towns version be supported?

clem
Posts: 2185
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:14 am

Post by clem » Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:14 am

if you donate it, I guess :-)

Post Reply